kinda cheating

I’m currently at Chapter 12 of Fire Emblem Fates Conquest and despite some setbacks, I’m still playing the permadeath Classic Mode. But… I’m kind of cheating.

First off, I bought a DLC mission back when I was still playing Birthright – the mission that allowed you to gain XP and gold in Conquest as well. So I have an advantage over someone who is playing a pure game of Conquest. It doesn’t just hand out XP and gold though; I still have to earn it by playing the mission. And the mission itself is still permadeath so I still need to play well. Lastly, the mission doesn’t award bucketloads of gold; it’s not like the Gold DLC of Awakening where you can earn a fortune in a single sitting.

This isn’t all that I did, though. There’s a castle with a generous player who not only has most of the mines, farms, and pools of items that you need for forging and cooking, he also didn’t equip his castle defenders. This makes seizing his castle quite easily, and what do you get when you seize a castle? You can recruit one of that player’s characters for free.

So I drafted Ryoma to the Nohrian side and he’s been kicking ass for me. He doesn’t have his signature weapon Raijinto, but he doesn’t need it – he still has the high stats and especially that high crit rate. I’ve played two chapters with him on and while he isn’t an auto win for me, he’s a tremendous help. He can hold entire sections of the map on his own, allowing me to reallocate my resources elsewhere.

I feel a little guilty about having Ryoma in my army but that’s a feature that’s in the game. I didn’t enter any cheat codes or hacks. Later on, I’ll refrain from using Ryoma and just use him as a last resort if I’m really having problems with a chapter.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

