cheap death

In the middle of one of the later dungeons in The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Seasons, I encountered something that I’ve never seen in a Zelda game before: a cheap, instant kill Zeldan

I was very surprised because Zelda games are known for the bottled fairy mechanic – catch a fairy, store it in a bottle and it’ll immediately revive you whenever you get KO’ed. In the Gameboy/GBC Zelda games, the equivalent of the bottled fairy is secret medicine which does the same thing.

Now this death trap that I’m talking about, not only did it immediately kill me from full health, it also bypassed my secret medicine and sent me directly to the Game Over screen. Wow.

It’s not too big of a deal – I took a quick break from the game, replayed it from my previous save, then handled that death trap quite easily. I’ve beaten the dungeon and I’ve moved on. But the experience is notable – again, Zelda games have this revive mechanic so instant game over effects feel quite out of place.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

