retro backlog

Yesterday, I dropped by one of our local video game stores to check on how much Corpse Party is being sold. I ended up finding a copy of Shovel Knight instead – a game that I thought sold out a long time ago. I didn’t want to risk missing out on Shovel Knight. It’s currently one of the highest rated games on the 3DS and I think the physical copy is a little more rarer than the usual 3DS title, so I got it.

Now that I have it though, it makes my current backlog a little retro-heavy. I’m currently playing Fire Emblem Fates (still on my Birthright playthrough) and River City Tokyo Rumble, which still carries it’s 8-bit aesthetics. Waiting in line are the virtual console versions of Castlevania III, The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages and Oracle of Seasons, and Retro City Rampage DX.

Excluding Fire Emblem Fates, that’s two Game Boy Color games, one NES game, and three games that harken back to the 8- and 16-bit eras. I hope I won’t get any retro-sickness soon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

