nerfs suck

Since settling on my main Clash Royale battle deck, I’ve been lucky when it comes to avoiding major nerfs to the cards that I’ve been using. Well, it looks like my luck has finally run out.

I’ve been using a deck that’s popularly known as the Hog Trifecta deck. This deck, for those not aware, comprises of the Hog Rider, Valkyrie, Musketeer, Ice Spirit, Elixir Collector, Zap, Poison, and Cannon. I’ve actually been hit by a couple of nerfs already: the Zap stun reduction and the Hog Rider damage reduction. But my deck survived and I managed to reach Legendary Arena with this deck. But I don’t think I’ll survive the next batch of nerfs.

First would be the change to the Elixir Collector, which will have its cost increase from 5 to 6 Elixir. In exchange, it’s lifespan will be increasing by 10 seconds and can be expected to provide a total of 8 Elixir throughout its entire lifespan. Which is not a positive change at all – it still provides an additional two Elixir at an increased cost. Not only will it be harder to defend the Elixir Collector (you’ll only have a spare 4 Elixir after playing it compared to 5 Elixir before the change), you also will have to wait an extra second before you can play it.

The next change that will hit me hard is the update to Poison. Currently, it is an area of effect spell that does gradual damage over time and also slows down movement and attacks of any troop within its area. This card will lose it’s slow down effect, which is what makes it a really good card on offense or defense. After that change, it’ll just be like the Fireball card, only with gradual damage.
These two updates will definitely change how the Hog Trifecta deck will function. And it hurts – I spent a lot of Gold upgrading my Poison to Level 4 and my Elixir Collector to Level 8. Because these cards won’t be as effective, I can’t shake the feeling of wasting all Gold that I invested in upgrading them.

Oh well. Them’s the breaks, I guess.

1 Comment

Filed under Journal

One response to “nerfs suck

Leave a Reply

