Gaming Geek’s Log – 2016.02.28

I’ve had my copy of Fire Emblem Fates for more than a week now but have yet to really play it. That’s because of a busier work schedule, and because of Super Smash Bros and Xenoblade Chronicles 3D.

Despite all the Fire Emblem hype, I’ve been ignoring the game thanks to Super Smash Bros. which is getting the smaller pockets of my free time, and Xenoblade Chronicles 3D, my go-to game for longer gaming periods.

No big surprise with Super Smash Bros. – the DLC characters were released in the form of a patch that also had some character tweaks so I’ve been practicing a lot. Unlike the time Cloud was released, I’ve been focusing a lot on improving my Link game since this looks to be the final patch and final set of tweaks.

As for Xenoblade Chronicles 3D, I wasn’t planning on getting it but a threeway trade allowed me to get my hands on a copy. I tried it for a couple of hours and got hooked – now, I’m too deep into the game to stop it and start Fire Emblem Fates.

Xenoblade Chronicles 3D is amazing. Sure, it was downgraded graphically so that it would run on the New 3DS, but it’s impressive nonetheless. What really got me to drop my jaw was the draw distance – you can, for example, see this mountain from a distance. At least from the games I’m used to playing, you can walk all the way to the mountain and experience several transition screens.

Not in Xenoblade Chronicles 3D. You see that mountain? You can walk up to it and even on it, if there are available trails or paths. The areas in this game are simply humongous, it can actually be a pain to traverse all these areas.

I’ve been doing retrogaming on Nintendo systems for quite some time now before hopping on the 3DS bandwagon, so I haven’t experienced any of the open world games on PS3/PS4.

So for the time being, most of my attention will be on these two games, especially since it looks like I won’t be able to beat Xenoblade Chronicles 3D until the end of March. Oh well, Fire Emblem Fates will have to wait.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

