Gaming Geek’s Log – 2016.02.02

Now that I’m truly done with Dementium Remastered, I’ve been able to spend more time with Mercenaries Saga2. I’ve also been playing Pokemon Picross – it lets me.

Mercenaries Saga2 for the most part is solid and reminds me a lot of Final Fantasy Tactics Advance – a game that was released around a decade ago on the Game Boy Advance. The biggest complaint I have about it is that the story and characterization is a little bland. There are twelve different characters and so far, only two of them seem to have an actual personality. As for the game’s plot, its just very generic right now – I won’t go into further detail to avoid spoilers.

As for the gameplay, Mercenaries Saga2 is solid but it doesn’t really offer anything new. It has what you expect from a basic strategy RPG – turn based combat, elevations, facing, classes, skills, you name it, this game has it. I have some issues with the gameplay though. First, the movement values of the characters are so low that it takes a while to get around the map, slowing down battles and making them feel like they’re taking longer than they should.

Second, several character classes have skills that can heal – great at first since I have plenty of options for healing, but so do the enemies. Unfortunately, players are limited to just six characters but the enemy doesn’t have that restriction, so you can be faced with a group that has a lot of healers who end up nullifying the damage that you’ve dealt in the previous turn. I understand the strategy needed – of course you need to take out the healers first, right? But when there are several who can heal, then you’re up for a long battle.

But like I said, Mercenaries Saga2 is a solid game, entertaining enough for me to spend my time with it.

As for Pokemon Picross, I really want to love it but the free-to-start system employed by this game is a little more restrictive than Pokemon Shuffle. Like Pokemon Shuffle, you need a resource that regenerates over time in order to play (hearts in Shuffle, Energy in Picross). But the stages of Pokemon Picross are locked behind another resource called Picrites, which is the game’s currency. In Pokemon Shuffle, new stages at unlocked any time you beat the latest stage, but the stages if Pokemon Picross are separated into locked sections.

And earning Picrites in this game is tough. The game offers Picrites as a reward for completing missions, but these missions are one time only. There’s a daily Challenge that also gives you Picrites, but at the moment I’m only earning as much as 9 Picrites per day. In order to unlock the next section, I’ll need 130 Picrites. I currently have 75 Picrites, so it’ll take me another week before I can advance.

That’s it for this journal update. Mercenaries Saga2 is doing its job of keeping me occupied until the release of the Fire Emblem Fates games, but Super Smash Bros. might steal some of my attention away from it soon because Bayonetta and Corrin will be available in just a couple of days.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

