Gaming Geek’s Log – 2016.01.01

First post of the year! Not sure what I really want to talk about… Maybe a quick look back at 2015 and how that year was for me in terms of video games? Yes, sounds like that’s a good topic to start 2016!

Let’s see… The biggest event for me in 2015 is probably upgrading to the New Nintendo 3DS XL, which happened at the end of February 2015. I’ve been waiting for this 3DS model ever since it was announced back in 2014 and the wait was worth it. The New Nintendo 3DS XL has been reviewed ad nauseam so I won’t go into that any further.

Despite having an upgraded model, I actually cut down on buying retail games. Not counting that Moshi Monsters game that was bundled with my New Nintendo 3DS XL, I only bought five games: Conception 2, Majora’s Mask 3D, Virtue’s Last Reward, Brain Age: Concentration Training, and Senran Kagura 2. This made up for the shopping spree that I did in 2014 when I was chasing after Club Nintendo coins.

I did, however, buy a few eShop games: three Sega 3D classics games, plus IronFall Invasion, I’ve Got to Run, Dementium Remastered and Mercenaries Saga 2. This is more than I bought the previous year, showing that my stance against digital only games has softened somewhat. That’s due in large part to the Club Nintendo rewards wherein I got four digital games for free: Mario and Donkey Kong: Minis on the Move, 3D Classics Twin Bee, and a second copy each of Mario Kart 7 and Tokyo Crash Mobs.

2015 also marked the release of several Nintendo free to play games, two of which have been eating up a lot of my time: Pokemon Shuffle and Pokemon Picross.

I guess I can say that I’ve had a satisfactory year of gaming, what with all the games I’ve been able to play. I’m quite thankful for that, and I’m really looking forward to 2016!

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

