Gaming Geek’s Log – 2015.12.26

It’s the day after Christmas, and I just beat Virtue’s Last Reward, a game which blew my mind in more ways than one.

Virtue’s Last Reward is a visual novel/puzzle game and is the sequel to the Nintendo DS game Nine Hours, Nine Persons, Nine Doors. I’ve been looking for a copy of this for months, opting to grab this instead of more popular games like Xenoblade Chronicles 3D or Etrian Odyssey Untold 2. And you know what? I made the right decision.

I loved both the story and the puzzles of this game, especially the last part. Virtue’s Last Reward plays out like a mystery, and I was quite satisfied with its conclusion. There were quite a number of revelations at the end that served as an excellent payoff for all the mental effort that this game required plus a few more revelations that I didn’t know that I wanted.

And the PUZZLES! Man, Virtue’s Last Reward really put my problem solving skills to the test, especially that last puzzle room. This game made me feel smart whenever I manage to beat a puzzle room because of the game’s difficulty.

I’m a little sad that the experience is already over, though. It’ll be a long while before the third game in this “trilogy” is released, and there really isn’t anything like Virtue’s Last Reward on the 3DS library.

Then again, I think my brain deserves a break from intense stories and puzzles.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

