The Buy List – October 2015

I didn’t do a Buy List article last month because I didn’t make any big purchases until recently. For this month, I’m looking at an updated Buy List…

the buy list logo

Recently Purchased

3ds - gunstar heroes mock up

3D Gunstar Heroes

I loved 3D Streets of Rage 2 so much, I became somewhat enamored with 3D remastered editions of old Sega Genesis games so when 3D Gunstar Heroes was released digitally on the eShop, I bought a copy right away. While I didn’t enjoy this game as much as I did 3D Streets of Rage 2, I don’t regret making this purchase. This was affordable and a solid game, and I don’t have any run-and-gun games in my collection anyway.

senran kagura 2 deep crimson - boxart

Senran Kagura 2: Deep Crimson

How often do I get to buy the number one item on my Buy List? Actually… I don’t know. Whatever! I was really worried about not being able to get a copy, and then the release of this game got delayed in my country to the point that I was preparing myself for the possibility of us not seeing this game at all. Sometime in September, local retailers announced that stocks of the Double D Edition of Senran Kagura 2: Deep Crimson would soon be available and of course I went and grabbed a copy. So now I have a new number one on this list!

Off the List

 

3ds code name steam

Code Name S.T.E.A.M.

When Code Name S.T.E.A.M. made it to my list last August, I had a feeling that it wouldn’t hold onto the fifth spot. There are just too many interesting games slated for release in the coming months, which is a shame because this game really is intriguing. I don’t know if I’ll eventually get to add this to my collection – that speaks volumes about the depth and quality of the Nintendo 3DS game library, I guess. So, goodbye for now Code Name S.T.E.A.M. – maybe we’ll see you again someday.

The Buy List

legend of zelda - tri force heroes

5. The Legend of Zelda: Tri Force Heroes (new entry)

The Legend of Zelda games, especially nowadays, are usually autobuys for me but I have serious concerns about Tri Force Heroes (I wrote about those several weeks ago). The short version of it is that it’s looking more and more like I’ll need to find two other people to play this game with regularly in order to fully enjoy it. I’m likely to get a copy of this, but maybe not until I find those two people that are willing to play this. Still, I’m adding this game to my list because it’s going to be released this month and I might end up getting this as an impulse purchase.

shovel knight - boxart

4. Shovel Knight (new entry)

I also wrote an article about Shovel Knight sometime ago and now I get to add this game to my Buy List because it’s also going to be released this month. I mean the physical edition, which should have additional DLC that makes it’s lower than usual price all the more attractive. It’s currently at 4th place because I’ve been eyeing the next three games for several months now, but because Shovel Knight is a totally different game (a platformer rather than an RPG), it may move a couple of spots up depending on whether I’m still in the mood for RPGs once I’m ready to make a purchase again.

shin-megami-tensei-iv-box

3. Shin Megami Tensei IV (previously at number 4)

I almost moved Shin Megami Tensei IV up one place because it’s being sold real cheap now, but I forgot about a new approach that I’m planning to take with my next purchases. I’ve talked about a lot of interesting games slated for release in the future, which makes it hard for me to catch up on previously released games that I missed out on. So to balance things out, I’m planning to alternate purchases between older games and newer releases. If an older game is at this position, then the next game on the list must be a newer release, right?

Xenoblade Chronicles 3D - box art

2. Xenoblade Chronicles 3D (previously at number 3)

Xenoblade Chronicles 3D retains its position at second place for several reasons – I just bought a recent release (Senran Kagura 2) so my next purchase can’t be a newer game. While there are other newer releases, none of them are exclusive to the New Nintendo 3DS so this game still has that working for it. This game is pretty expensive though, and because it’s an RPG there’s a possibility of me ending up with a copy of the more affordable Shovel Knight instead. It all depends on how I’m feeling after I’m done with the next game on this list.

Virtues-Last-Reward-Box-Art_3DS-600x535

1. Virtue’s Last Reward (previously at number 2)

I almost gave up on getting a copy of this game. I’ve been visiting different local retailers frequently, checking for copies of Virtue’s Last Reward and finding none. Being an older game (released originally in 2012) and an underrated title at that, I figured that retailers wouldn’t be interested in restocking.

But you know what? They did. And while I missed out on some copies – people on a message board that I frequent have been looking for this game too and have been giving updates on restocks and the game selling out again – I found a copy. And I had it reserved for a future purchase. Problem is, money is a little tight and I don’t think I’ll be able to buy this any time soon. Maybe not until December.

And that’s real life for you. You look for something for so long, up to a point that you’ve prepared yourself for the possibility of not being able to find it. Only to find it eventually when you’ve all but given up, but now you can’t have it for one reason or another. 

Hold up, that line of thinking got a little too serious. This is a video game – if I end up not being able to add Virtue’s Last Reward to my collection, it’s okay. There are a lot of other really good 3DS games out there, and a lot more yet to come.

And that’s my Buy List for this month whenever I’m able to buy 3DS games again. What title am I going to end up purchasing? We’ll see. Until next time!

Leave a comment

Filed under Nintendo 3DS, The Buy List, Video games

Leave a Reply

