In the Crosshairs – The Legend of Legacy

Every now and then, there’s an announcement of the release of a new Nintendo 3DS game that I’m considering to add to my collection. This series of articles will cover share my thoughts on these new Nintendo 3DS game announcements and so I can share why they got my attention in the first place. Today, I’m going to talk about The Legend of Legacy.

crosshairs-the-legend-of-legacy

The Legend of Legacy is a game that keeps getting mentioned in different podcasts that I listen to and in video game websites that I frequent. Recently, I’ve been reading up on updates about the game and I learned a few things that sparked my interest in this.

First is the game’s story – The Legend of Legacy revolves around a mysterious island named Avalon. You have the option of playing as one of seven different characters, each tasked to explore Avalon. They all have their own reasons why they want to do this and the game’s ending will differ based on who you choose as your character. You will also get to choose two of the remaining seven as your supporting characters, and from what I’ve read, the general storyline will have some differences depending on who your companions are. Because of this, The Legend of Legacy reminds me of Seiken Densetsu 3, an RPG that never got localized for North America. I loved that game and ended up replaying it at least six times to get all the endings.

I also got taken by the game’s art.  The Legend of Legacy looks really good and is very similar to Bravely Default‘s art style. If I didn’t know better, I would think that The Legend of Legacy was a Square Enix product or even a Bravely Default spin-off, just based on appearances alone.

The similarities between the two games are uncanny, at least from my perspective.

The visual similarities between The Legend of Legacy and Bravely Default are uncanny, at least from my perspective.

I’ve also been reading some reviews of the japanese version of The Legend of Legacy and I’ve been seeing frequent mentions of three things that may deter/convince me to get a copy of this – first is the game’s difficulty. More than one reviewer has said that The Legend of Legacy is very challenging – one even warns potential players to get used to the Game Over screen. Normally, this would make me want a game even more but I’ve been having challenges with finding free time in recent months so I’ve been avoiding games that are unreasonably difficult (like Viewtiful Joe). If there’s enough feedback saying that this game is simply too difficult, I might opt for a different game instead (at least for the meantime).

There’s also some negative feedback regarding The Legend of Legacy being too light on story, but I don’t want to be too quick to judge this game’s story based on the Japanese version because I think there’s a possibility for this game to improve through localization.

I guess what I want to say is I’m interested in The Legend of Legacy because I’m seeing an RPG that could potentially be really good, but I’m also seeing some red flags that won’t necessarily break the game for me. The demo is already out on the Nintendo eShop and I’ve already downloaded it, but I’m going to save it for when The Legend of Legacy finally comes out. For now, I’m keeping my eyes peeled for this.

Leave a comment

Filed under In the Crosshairs

Leave a Reply

