Gaming Geek’s Log – 2015.08.17

For this week’s journal entry I’m going to talk about Pokemon Shuffle, The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D, Fantasy Life, and 3D Classics: Twin Bee.

a 3ds - pokemon shuffle

Last week I wrote about the possibility of missing out on Phione, and you know what? Sometime last week, I got lucky and finally encountered the blasted Pokemon. I beat it too, so all is well. I got so stressed out, spending so many Hearts on Pokemon Safari and getting into battles with Pokemon that I’ve already beaten, I didn’t care anymore if I ranked high enough to win a Mega Speedup prize in that week’s Mega Garchomp event. I didn’t, but it’s okay – what’s important is being able to capture every single Pokemon and get every single Mega Stone that gets released.

Earlier today, Pokemon Shuffle got another massive update which has another Escalation Battle event featuring Darkrai, a new set of Main Stages, and three new EX stages. I think this update brings the total number of Pokemon in the game to more than 300. I’m still working my way through the new Main Stages and have only captured one or two new Pokemon, so I don’t have much to say about the new additions other than this update is perfectly timed once again.

a 3ds - fantasy life

I’ve been playing more of Fantasy Life ever since I got that StreetPass item exchange exploit set up. As I said last week, I can’t do this for all items so I still need to do some item-hunting in order to forge/create the equipment that I want. So I’ve been doing just that, which made me realize how weak my character still is, even though I’ve beaten the game’s main quest (yes, even the DLC quest). The level cap, once you buy the Origin Island DLC, is at 200 and I’m just at 114 so I’ve got a long way to go. It looks like I’m ready to start my “replay sessions” and Fantasy Life just may be one of the titles that I end up revisiting soon because there’s still a lot of things to do in this game.

a 3ds - zelda majoras mask 3d

I tried to go as far as I could in Majora’s Mask 3D without consulting guides or FAQs, trying to complete all of the remaining subquests, get all the masks, and find as many Pieces of Heart. Well, I ended up having to look up some hints online because I reached a certain point wherein I really had no other ideas on where to go or what to do. I’m not disappointed in myself though because I think I got very far on my own, and it’s not like I looked at a full walkthrough, I just needed hints to get a starting point.

I also wanted to get the special Fierce Deity mask on my first playthrough but now that I’ve beaten the game, I kind of wish that I didn’t. The Fierce Deity mask made the final boss battle a real cakewalk and was sort of anti-climactic, especially after I had gotten through what I think are some of the toughest challenges the game had to offer in the form of the “hide and seek” stages. Beating the game with what I had gotten without hints would have given me some incentive at trying the game again a second time in order to get the complete ending. Oh well, what’s done is done.

Majora’s Mask 3D is a really well made game and is proof that there’s still a place for remakes and remastered versions. I’m really glad that I got another opportunity to play this game, and a polished version at that. Somewhere down the line, I’m going to do another playthrough of Ocarina of Time 3D and Majora’s Mask 3D, two games that definitely belong in my 3DS collection.

a 3ds - 3d classics twin bee

Beating Majora’s Mask 3D meant that I had room for another game in my rotation, and I opted for 3D Classics: Twin Bee to remind myself of the time when Konami was still making a lot of games for Nintendo. Well, this game also reminded me of how hard games were back in the day – I underestimated this game and didn’t even make it past Stage 1-4!

Twin Bee is a vertical shooter that kind of got overshadowed by Gradius (another shooter from Konami) probably because this never got released for the NES. This game had some neat gameplay features that I liked back in the day, such as the ability to play it cooperatively with a second player (something that Gradius didn’t have). Twin Bee even allowed both players to link up their spacecraft for more powerful attacks, so there’s another layer of strategy to the game. I also liked how there was a separation between air-based and ground-based enemies and how you had two different attacks, one for dealing with enemies in the air and one for those on the ground.

Unfortunately, 3D Classics: Twin Bee does not have the co-op feature, but it does come with 3D functionality. There’s something about viewing old NES games in 3D that I find appealing – you’re still looking at flat sprites but now they’re on different layers, adding some depth to the visuals. The 3D effect is especially effective in 3D Classics: Twin Bee primarily because of how it separates the sky from the ground, making the sprites that are supposed to be in the air look as if they’re floating. I hate to admit it but I’m no longer satisfied with old school 8-bit graphics, but this coat of 3D paint made me really interested in playing 3D Classics: Twin Bee. I wonder… Does the Konami Code work on this game? I’ve got to try that out later.

And that’s it for this week’s entry. I’ve only got a few games left on my list to play, after which I’ll have to look into which games to revisit. Until next time!

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

