The Buy List – August 2015

Despite not really planning on any purchases before August, I ended up buying some new games so I had to update my Buy List for this month. What changed? Let’s take a look…

the buy list logo

Recently Purchased

ive got to run - mock boxart

I’ve Got to Run: Complete Edition

To be frank, I’ve never even heard of this game until I saw that it was being offered at a discount in response to Satoru Iwata’s passing. The price of the 3DS version of the game went down to just $0.10 for a couple of days, and the publisher said that proceeds would go to Cancer Research. Ten cents for a full game and proceeds go to a noble cause? I didn’t have any good reasons not to make this purchase.

Is the game any good? Ummmm… This type of game really isn’t my cup of tea. Let’s just say that my wallet’s not really hurting from the money I spent so everything is all good. Also, note that this is an eShop only game – the box art that I posted here is just a crude mock up that I did. 

streets of rage 2 - mock up box art

3D Streets of Rage 2

I’ve been waiting for the release of 3D Streets of Rage 2 for quite some time now, and it finally made it to the Nintendo eShop last July 23. I’ve been wanting to add a good beat ’em up game to my 3DS game library and this game is one of the best beat ’em up games to be released ever. Despite being a remake of a very old game, 3D Streets of Rage 2‘s mechanics hold up to the test of time and the many enhancements that this edition has just adds value to it. I’m definitely happy to add this to my collection.

3ds-brain-age-concentration-training

Brain Age: Concentration Training

It’s funny how I often end up buying the game that’s ranked lowest on this Buy List, but I had Brain Age: Concentration Training at number five last month simply because I wasn’t sure if my girlfriend would enjoy playing this. But then I found out that this game allowed for up to four profiles, so I thought about using this game for work-related purposes as well. It was reasonably priced at the store where we got our copy at just around $20 so it felt like a safe purchase.

And you know what? My girlfriend liked this game enough that she’s been playing it every day now. I’ve also made this part of my regular rotation, and I’ve even required a few colleagues to play a few Brain Age sessions regularly. At least for the time being, this is a good buy. If our interest in this game lasts for maybe three months or more, then I can say that this purchase was well worth it.

The Buy List:

3ds code name steam

 5. Code Name S.T.E.A.M.

I have to be honest – Code Name S.T.E.A.M. made its way back into this list almost by default because I made a purchase and I want to stick to a five-item list to make sure I’ve got enough options. Don’t get me wrong, Code Name S.T.E.A.M. has got a lot of good things about it that I’m interested in – it’s a strategy RPG set in a steampunk world that has characters based on Western literature which is packaged in a Silver Age comic book era artstyle. It’s just that there are so many interesting 3DS games that will come out soon – we’ve got Little Battlers Experience, Youkai Watch, the physical edition of Shovel Knight, and The Legend of Zelda: Tri Force Heroes to name a few. Any one of those future releases could kick this game off this list, or I may end up buying this game if I run into extra disposable income. But again, I’m definitely still interested in this game.

shin-megami-tensei-iv-box

 4. Shin Megami Tensei IV

It seems like Shin Megami Tensei IV has been perpetually on this list at the fourth or fifth slot – am I really interested in this game? Of course I am! It’s just that there are other games that I became more interested in for different reasons, and most of those aren’t turn-based RPGs. I still enjoy RPGs a lot, and I’m definitely not going to miss out on one of the best RPGs to come out on the 3DS. When I’m ready for another long RPG experience, I’m definitely going to grab a copy of this game. Now is simply not the time for it.

Xenoblade Chronicles 3D - box art

3. Xenoblade Chronicles 3D

I enjoy my New Nintendo 3DS XL a lot, but there are times when I feel like I didn’t really get much of an upgrade because I haven’t been playing games that really maximize the capabilities of the device. Xenoblade Chronicles 3D is one of the few games available that will do this, and it’s a remake of one of the more renowned RPGs to ever be released on the Nintendo Wii, so I’m definitely going to get this somewhere down the line. Same with Shin Megami Tensei IV, I’m just not in the mood for a long turn-based RPG right now. But that’ll happen soon – maybe as soon as I’m able to purchase and play the next two games on this list. 

 Virtues-Last-Reward-Box-Art_3DS-600x535

2. Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward

I wrote last month that I was considering to go after Virtue’s Last Reward more aggressively, which I actually did. I’ve been visiting different video game stores whenever I could, checking if they have copies of this game, and for whatever reason they simply don’t have this game. I also considered putting up want ads for this but I’m preparing to get a copy of the next game on this list, so I’m holding off on that. Recently, there was an  announcement that Zero Escape 3 will be made for the 3DS so I’m definitely going to need a copy of this if I want to complete my Zero Escape experience. Let’s see what’s going to happen this month.

senran kagura 2 deep crimson - boxart

1. Senran Kagura 2: Deep Crimson

We’re finally here – August, the month that Senran Kagura 2: Deep Crimson was supposed to come out. I’ve already made a reservation at my favorite video game retailer and will follow up on that to make sure that I can get a physical copy of this. I’m also prepared for the possibility of not getting this game if physical copies don’t make it to our shores. Turns out that the North American release will come after the European release, which has just recently been slated for August 27. I guess I’ll have to wait for further announcements. I just hope that this game will make it to our shores because I’m really not going to settle for a digital copy.

And that’s it for this month’s edition of my Buy List. Will I buy another game this August? What’ll it be? We’ll have to wait for this month to end to find out.

Leave a comment

Filed under Nintendo 3DS, The Buy List, Video games

Leave a Reply

