Gaming Geek’s Log – 2015.07.20

For this week’s journal entry, I’m going to talk about Pokemon Shuffle, Super Smash Bros., and The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D.

a 3ds - pokemon shuffle
Last week’s Pokemon Shuffle update was relatively uneventful, but the game’s developers made up for it by having four different events in today’s update. The first one is another round of Daily Pokemon involving several Pokemon that we’ve already seen previously. This event may seem irrelevant to those (like me) who managed to capture all the Pokemon in this batch, but let me share a tip that isn’t immediately clear – for some reason, the game will “reset” how it views your completion of these stages. These Daily Pokemon will still appear as captured, but your stage ranking will not be available as if you’ve never played the stage before. This means that the Coin reward for beating a stage for the first time will be available again, and one can’t have too many Coins in this game. This batch of Daily Pokemon will be available until August 1 though, so anyone playing Pokemon Shuffle should focus on the events that I’ll be talking about next.

The second event is another Mega Pokemon event. I’ve been anticipating Mega Charizard because we’ve already seen Mega Blastoise and Mega Venusaur, but I was wrong – this time around, we’re getting Mega Blaziken. I don’t mind this at all, both Charizard and Blaziken are Fire-types so we’re finally getting a Mega Evolving Fire-type. This event will last for seven days, and only those who place 20,000 or better will win Blaziken’s Mega Stone as a prize. Just like in the Mega Manectric event, if you place among the top 6,000, you’ll also get a Mega Speedup item. Like the most recent Mega Pokemon events, I just went all out with my items and am currently sitting between the 900th and 1,000th place – I’m hoping that this ranking will remain in the top 6,000 because I really don’t want to miss out on getting my fourth Mega Speedup prize.

The third event is the second Escalation Battle event, this time involving Cresselia, a Psychic-type. I’ve actually caught it already and it’s quite powerful – it has a starting Attack Power of 80 and the Barrier Bash+ ability. Catching Cresselia isn’t the only thing that’s important in this event though – beating this stage repeatedly will earn different rewards, the best one being a Mega Speedup after your 50th and 100th win. I’m aiming to get the first Mega Speedup at least, and I think it’s going to be easier this time than it was during the first Escalation Battles event that involved Giratina. There are a lot of options against Psychic-types currently, my favorites being Heracross, Giratina, and Genesect. These three have been doing massive damage against Cresselia so far and if I end up having a hard time, I’ve got enough Coins saved up that I’ll be able to buy plenty of items. This event is available for 14 days, so I’ve got plenty of time to get 50 wins.

The final event is a little strange. Dubbed a “Try ’em Items Stage”, this event has a stage wherein you can use Items for free. However, not all the Items are available at the get-go – right now, there’s only one Item available for use which is a Mega Start. Every Monday, a new item will be added to the selection. This stage is actually quite tough – you’re facing Wobuffet, another Psychic-type Pokemon, and you only have 10 moves available. Wobbuffet’s catch rate is abysmally low, so I’m actually waiting for the Moves+5 item to be available. It’s a good thing that this event will be available until August 15, and since this involves another Psychic type, any Pokemon I end up gaining levels for while doing the Cresselia Escalation Battles will also be useful against Wobbuffet. Disclaimer though – the event says “Days Left 5” – I’m not exactly sure if this is because a new item will be available next week, or because we’ll see a totally different Pokemon next week.

With all these new events, it looks like Pokemon Shuffle players are going to be really busy these next two weeks.

a 3ds - super smash bros

Hungry for a little competition, I suggested a Super Smash Bros. battle format inspired by different anime/manga titles to the Street Pass group that I join monthly, which has resulted in me playing Super Smash Bros. frequently again. The format essentially involves us choosing a minimum of five fighters (no repeats) each. A round would involve two people playing five matches, using a different fighter each time. If you’re familiar with the anime Yu Yu Hakusho or Flame of Recca, you’d recognize this tournament format.

The strategy then goes beyond simply using a fighter in a battle – now we’d have to consider the order of which fighters to use. Do I choose the fighter I’m best at right at the very first match and set the tone for the entire round? Or do I use other fighters that I’m not good with at the start, anticipating that my opponent would use their best fighters right away, which in turn pairs up my best fighter against lesser opposition?

This approach basically forced me to play other fighters aside from Link and Ryu in order for me to form a competitive five-man team. I wrote last time that I’ve been looking for alternate fighters, and before we even considered this format I’ve basically been lazy in choosing new fighters. I’d play a fighter for a few matches and give up if I found it too difficult to pull off consecutive wins. With the pressure of actually needing to be good with five fighters, I was forced to stick with a fighter for a few more matches, only giving up once I’m sure that I won’t be able to utilize the said fighter.

Just like what I wrote last time, anything that extends a game’s lifespan is good. I’ve been playing Super Smash Bros. frequently again and it looks like I’m not stopping any time soon – more bang for the money that I initially spent on this game.

a 3ds - zelda majoras mask 3d

I’ve been making good progress in The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D. I just beat the third temple out of a total of four, which I think means the end of the game is within striking distance. Despite the progress that I’ve been making, I also feel that I haven’t made enough progress. I’ve been skipping a lot of the subquests of the game, simply because it’s much easier to just tackle the main quest and just beat the dungeons. I feel that I’m missing a good chunk of the story though.

If I’m right and I really am close to the end of the game, I might put beating Majora’s Mask 3D off and try my hand at accomplishing whatever subquest I can finish and not rush through this game. I want to savor the experience that this game is providing.

 

And that’s it for today. I meant to write about a fourth game, but I’ve already written a lot this time around. I’ll play that fourth game a little more before I share my thoughts on it. 3D Streets of Rage 2 is also coming out this week – I’ve been wanting to buy a copy since I heard about it’s release, so I might be able to talk about that more next week. Until then!

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

