Gaming Geek’s Log – 2015.07.13

Not much to talk about today, but I’d like to take the opportunity to discuss my progress in Pokemon Shuffle, Super Smash Bros., and The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D. I also want to say a few words about an unfortunate event that happened recently.

a 3ds - pokemon shuffle

Not much to talk about this time around. This week’s update didn’t have any new content to go with it. This week’s event is the Mega Lucario event, the third time that Mega Lucario is going to be up for grabs. This is great for those new to Pokemon Shuffle, and it’s great for me because I can focus on training Pokemon and grinding for Coins. I already have 18 Pokemon at MAX level, and 15 at Level 9. Hopefully, by the time I write my next journal entry, I’ve already got at least 20 of my Pokemon at MAX.

3ds a - super smash bros

I’ve been playing Super Smash Bros. for quite a long time now, starting with Super Smash Bros. Melee, the Nintendo Gamecube entry of the series. Since then I’ve been using Link as my primary character, even after I had graduated to Super Smash Bros. Brawl on the Nintendo Wii. So when Super Smash Bros. came out for the Nintendo 3DS, I pretty much defaulted to Link as my main character.

Sticking with Link has, in my opinion, made my Super Smash Bros. playstyle very one dimensional, so I’ve been looking for a character who can serve as my second go-to fighter. I tried using Toon Link (called Young Link in Super Smash Bros. Melee) but he’s too similar to Link and his subtle differences actually make me a little worse when playing as Link, since I sometimes get confused with their characteristics. In Super Smash Bros. Brawl, I tried learning how to Ike (from the Fire Emblem series), but he’s a fighter that relies on powerful attacks and is a little too slow for my taste. I still use him as an alternate in this recent edition of Super Smash Bros., but his slow speed really makes me vulnerable to speedy characters.

When the Super Smash Bros. demo came out, I started practicing a lot with Capcom‘s blue bomber, Mega Man. I wanted to use him as my alternate because I was a big fan of his games back in the day, but I just keep having trouble executing his moves correctly, especially during heated matches. I ended up choosing another Capcom character, someone who just recently got added to the roster as a paid DLC – Ryu.

I bought Ryu strictly for his novelty – he’s the main character of the Street Fighter games (what is arguably the most famous fighting game franchise of all time), and his DLC came with a new stage and two audio tracks so I felt I was getting a lot of value. I also liked how Ryu was designed with his Street Fighter roots in mind – you can execute his special moves using the traditional Super Smash Bros. commands, but if you did his special moves using the Street Fighter commands then you’d be executing stronger versions of each move.

Initially, I saw Ryu as a fresh new way to grind through the game’s Smash Run mode because he plays like no other Super Smash Bros. character. But the more I used him, the more I started to see that he would be a viable main character. I ended up using Ryu a lot on one-on-one For Glory style battles against the game’s Level 9 AI and while I lost a lot of these battles, I’ve gotten really better at him. I’m definitely nowhere as good as Super Smash Bros. pros, but I’m finally at a point wherein I can beat the Level 9 AI consistently if I’m able to stick to my gameplan.

And I like how my fighting style changes between Link and Ryu. With Link, I usually have a set offense regardless of the character that I’m fighting against. My style with Ryu is much different – I’m basically a defensive player, blocking and dodging attacks while waiting for openings. I haven’t really tested myself against human opponents though.

I don’t regret purchasing the Ryu DLC. Content aside, the Ryu DLC has resulted in more Super Smash Bros. play for me. Anything that can extend a game’s lifespan is good.

 a 3ds - zelda majoras mask 3d

I don’t know what it is about Majora’s Mask 3D, but it feels so fresh even if I’ve already played several The Legend of Zelda games that share the same or have similar mechanics, especially if I compare my current experience with my recent Ocarina of Time 3D playthrough. I’ve been progressing quite nicely in this game. I already have three of the four (?) special masks and I’m about to enter the third temple now.

I had just come across a moment wherein Link encounters a character who is near death, and you’re actually there when that character passes away. This made me tell my girlfriend how Majora’s Mask 3D can be depressing – underneath that coat of Nintendo PG-rated paint lies a world filled with darkness and death. I’m not superstitious but it’s a little unsettling how, later today, I saw news about Satoru Iwata’s (CEO of Nintendo) death. It’s just plain eerie.

Anyway, I feel really bad about this sad news. Whatever anyone else says, I feel that Satoru Iwata was a great leader for Nintendo. He was in charge when Nintendo regained the number one position and saw the Nintendo Wii and the Nintendo DS dominate the market. He was leading the charge to Nintendo’s new approach to mobile gaming and its move to the NX.

 

 

And that’s all for today’s journal entry. I didn’t know Satoru Iwata personally, but I’d be lying if I said that his death hasn’t affected me. May you rest in peace, Mr. Iwata. Thank you for your contributions to the video game industry.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

