The Buy List – July 2015

I ended up making a purchase last May, so that means I get to write a new post because there are changes to my Buy List. Here’s the list of what I have my eyes on for this month…

the buy list logo

Recently purchased:

3ds - the legend of zelda majoras mask 3d

The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D

I finally have this in my collection. Since Nintendo announced that they will be releasing The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D, I’ve been wanting to have a copy of it. Making this purchase actually marks several milestones for my 3DS collection. This is the 24th physical game that I own – significant because I have a 24 cartridge game case and Majora’s Mask 3D filled up that last slot – and this means that my Legend of Zelda game collection for the Nintendo 3DS is complete (for now).

This is also significant in that, this might be my last purchase for quite some time. Of the remaining games on this Buy List, only one is really a must have and because that game is rare, I might end up not getting a copy of it. I’m also planning on replaying several of my games, so there’s really no need to buy anything new in the near future. If I had to stop buying Nintendo 3DS games, I think I’m satisfied with what I have already – that’s a good idea for a future post though, so I’ll be sure to revisit that thought.

But back to Majora’s Mask 3D – this is one of the few The Legend of Zelda games that I missed out on, and I’m glad to get another opportunity to play this.

Off the List:

pokemon art academy - box art

Pokemon Art Academy

This was on the list because I was trying to find a game that my girlfriend could enjoy, and we both seriously considered getting this but she just wasn’t that into art to make this type of investment. As a test, we tried out the original Art Academy on the Nintendo DS and she didn’t really get into it. As for me, I’d rather spend my time playing actual video games than go through art lessons on a device that’s really not built for it. Because of that, I’m taking this game off the list.

The Buy List:

3ds - brain age concentration training

5. Brain Age: Concentration Training

One game that I came across while looking for games for my girlfriend was Brain Age for the Nintendo DS. She enjoyed it enough to play it everyday for more than a week (she stopped when a real world event broke her momentum). It got to a point wherein it became competitive between us and I ended up playing the game to match/beat her scores. That got me thinking about Brain Age: Concentration Training for the Nintendo 3DS.

After reading about Brain Age: Concentration Training, I got more and more interested in it. You see, Brain Age: Concentration Training is more than just another version of Brain Age with better visuals – the exercises in the game aim to improve focus and concentration through the game’s “Devilish Exercises“. Aside from these exercises, Brain Age: Concentration Training also comes with bonus mini-games like Piano Player, Word Blend, Mahjong, Spider, Golf Solitaire, Block Head, Blob Blast and even a Dr. Mario clone called Germ Buster.

I’ve looked copies up at local retailers and Brain Age: Concentration Training is being sold at a reasonable price. I’ve been dealing with a lot of issues in real life, so I think improving my focus will help. It may be funny to think that a Nintendo 3DS game can help with that, but it certainly won’t be a hindrance. So yes, I’m seriously considering getting this game, not just for my girlfriend but for myself as well.

shin megami tensei iv - box

4. Shin Megami Tensei IV

To be honest, I got drawn into the hype for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2: Record Breaker and seriously considered getting it’s prequel, Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked, even though I had already played its original version on the Nintendo DS. Eventually, I told myself that I’d be getting Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2: Record Breaker anyway.

But then I thought about this again and asked myself – would I really opt to play an upgraded version of a Shin Megami Tensei spin-off that I had already played or just play one of the main games in the series? I already had Shin Megami Tensei IV in mind before, so why not get this instead of the Devil Survivor games?

And so here I am again, with Shin Megami Tensei IV back on the list. At this point in time, I’m already happy with the variety of games in my Nintendo 3DS game library. I’m ready to go back to focusing on getting story-driven games, which means I’ll probably be chasing after RPGs over other types of games. And Shin Megami Tensei IV is definitely an RPG that I shouldn’t miss out on.

Xenoblade Chronicles 3D - box art

3. Xenoblade Chronicles 3D

I’m still getting Xenoblade Chronicles 3D for reasons I’ve stated before – it’s a New Nintendo 3DS exclusive and it’s Wii version was critically acclaimed and highly sought after. Like I said, I’m thinking of focusing on playing RPGs again so this is definitely something that I’m considering.

virtue's last reward - box

2. Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward

I’m moving Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward a slot higher on this list, simply because I’ve been seeing copies of Xenoblade Chronicles 3D in local retailers but not this game. I think I really need to start aggressively chasing after this game after I get the next game that I’m going to talk about.

senran kagura 2 deep crimson - boxart1. Senran Kagura 2: Deep Crimson

The announced release date for Senran Kagura 2: Deep Crimson is August 11, 2015, which means that I really have to start placing pre-orders or reservations if I really want this in my collection. So for now, Senran Kagura 2: Deep Crimson is the highest on this priority list.

Again, Senran Kagura 2: Deep Crimson has a lot of things going for it – it’s a beat ’em up game with solid game mechanics, it has ecchi fanservice (a rarity for the Nintendo 3DS), and physical copies of this game are limited so this may become a rare and expensive game in the future. I definitely don’t want to miss out on this.

 

And that’s it for my Buy List. What’s interesting (to me at least) is that this list may get revised in the future, even if I don’t end up buying anything new. Nintendo just announced a couple of intriguing games, such as Metroid Prime: Federation Force and The Legend of Zelda: Tri Force Heroes. One of those games might end up leapfrogging their way into this list. We’ll see what happens over the coming months.

Leave a comment

Filed under Nintendo 3DS, The Buy List, Video games

Leave a Reply

