In the Crosshairs – 3D Streets of Rage 2

Every now and then, there’s an announcement of the release of a new Nintendo 3DS game that I’m considering to add to my collection. This series of articles will cover share my thoughts on these new Nintendo 3DS game announcements and so I can share why they got my attention in the first place. Today, I’m going to talk about the 3D enhanced edition of Streets of Rage 2.

 

crosshairs-streets-of-rage-2

When I first heard that  Sega was coming out with a 3D enhanced remake of Streets of Rage 2, I was very excited. I enjoy playing beat-’em-up games a lot, and Streets of Rage 2 is one of the best beat-’em-up games ever released, not to mention one of the best games ever released on the Sega Genesis.

The original Streets of Rage 2 is already a great game in itself, lauded for its vibrant 16-bit colors and soundtrack. You had the option of choosing between four different characters, each with his/her own distinct strengths and weaknesses and their own set of moves that will definitely influence how you use them. It even comes with a compelling enough plot – Mr. X, the main villain from the first Streets of Rage, has returned to exact revenge on the heroes who defeated him. He’s got Adam, one of the main heroes in the first game, in custody, and now its up to Axel and Blaze to rescue their comrade.

I have to be honest – I don’t find 8-bit and 16-bit games all that appealing anymore. I enjoyed them a lot back in the day, but now I’m no longer satisfied with their graphics and game mechanics. But the Nintendo 3DS remastered version is different because the 3D enhancement really works well in improving the graphics of old 8-bit and 16-bit games. I enjoy seeing all those sprites pop out and actually separate themselves from the background.

If a 3D enhanced version of Streets of Rage 2 doesn’t sound good enough, this remaster comes with other improvements that really makes this a must buy for me. The more notable ones are the use of save states is especially handy for portable play and a new game mode called “Quartet” mode wherein you select each of the four characters in a certain order. You’ll start your game with your first character and when he/she dies you move on to the next character, and so on. Quartet mode adds a new layer of strategy to the game – do you play as your favorite character right at the start and risk losing him/her early, or do you save him/her for last and settle for one of the other characters that you’re not as good with? You’ll need to be good at using all four characters in order to succeed in this mode.

Another reason for me to really want to buy 3D Streets of Rage 2 is that it’s a small eShop game (pardon the crudely made box art mock up at the start of this article) that I’m sure will be sold for a reasonable price. The remake of first game, 3D Streets of Rage, is being sold for just $5.99, so I’m expecting 3D Streets of Rage 2 to be sold at a similar price.

3D Streets of Rage 2 is set to be released this July 2015. I definitely have my sights set on this game, and other Nintendo 3DS owners should consider getting this too.

Leave a comment

Filed under In the Crosshairs

Leave a Reply

