Gaming Geek’s Log – 2015.06.15

I’ve been breezing through Moshi Monsters: Katsuma Unleashed and have actually beaten it once already, so I’m going to talk about it in more detail. There are also a couple of things that I want to talk about regarding Pokemon Shuffle, Super Smash Bros., and Mario and Donkey Kong: Minis on the Move.

a 3ds - katsuma unleashed

Moshi Monsters: Katsuma Unleashed

I can’t believe I forgot to edit the intro to my previous journal entry and still referred to this game as Katsuma’s Revenge. In any case, I’ve been playing Moshi Monsters: Katsuma Unleashed and this game isn’t as bad as I initially thought.

I thought Moshi Monsters: Katsuma Unleashed was based on some children’s cartoon series that I haven’t heard off yet. I looked it up and I was a little surprised to find out that Moshi Monsters is a browser game wherein you take care of pets. I don’t know if the game mechanics are similar to Neopets; I didn’t bother checking further. Well, Moshi Monsters: Katsuma Unleashed puts characters from that world in a platform game.

As I said earlier, this game isn’t as bad as I assumed it would be. The best way I can describe Moshi Monsters: Katsuma Unleashed is that it’s a game that’s meant to be played by younger folk who have little video gaming experience, and not because of the game’s difficulty because it actually offers a decent enough challenge (even an experienced gamer like myself lost a few lives every now and then. I guess, this is perfect for introducing children to video games because everything is very basic – the controls are simplistic and the levels aren’t that complicated. Respawn points are scattered everywhere so if you die, you just respawn nearby. Even the “story” is simple – someone captured all of the Moshi Monsters except Katsuma and your goal is to save all of them.

You can beat each stage simply by getting to the end. There are health powerups scattered throughout, as well as three cages where a Moshi Monster is imprisoned plus a special object that looks like a shard of something that you can collect. Every now and then, you’ll encounter a certain boss character and when you beat them, you can rescue special Moshi Monsters that will allow you to use different special abilities. The special abilities range from being able to throw projectiles, gaining the power of flight, being able to punch through specific obstacles, invulnerability, and even the ability to slow down time. You can beat most of the levels without needing any of these abilities, but you’ll need to use them in order to rescue all of the Moshi Monsters and collect every shard. So if you want to rescue all of the Moshi Monsters and collect all of the shards, you’ll have to do some backtracking later on.

The simplicity of the game isn’t bad, but I definitely prefer games that are a little more complex. Aside from that, there are really only two things that I don’t like about this game. First, the boss battles are too simple and too easy. Not only does the game help you out by revealing the weak points of each boss, but the bosses themselves are very easy to deal with. Their attack patterns are simple and have very little variation, so it’s easy to figure out how to beat them. They also don’t have a lot of lives – most of the bosses die after three hits.

My second complaint involves the game’s graphics – they’re just not very aesthetically pleasing to me. I’ve seen Super Nintendo games that had better visuals than Moshi Monsters: Katsuma Unleashed. I know that the target is a younger audience, but I still think the developers could have invested more in better graphics.

I beat this game with close to 90% completion in under five hours. There’s an option to play this game under a harder difficulty setting once you beat it, but I don’t think I’ll bother going through Moshi Monsters: Katsuma Unleashed again – it’s simply lacking the depth and complexity to keep me engaged.

 

a 3ds - pokemon shufflePokemon Shuffle

There was another Pokemon Shuffle update earlier today, a smaller one that marks the start of a two limited time challenges – a repeat of the Mega Blastoise event and a two week Dialga Great Challenge.

My girlfriend and I managed to beat Level 50 of the Giratina Challenge so we already have the Mega Speedup prize. I found out that you can actually keep playing the challenge and if you manage to beat Level 100, you can get another Mega Speedup. Well, Level 50 was challenging enough for us – it took both of us multiple attempts and we had to use items in order to beat that stage, so we’re passing on the second Mega Speedup. We’ve also managed to capture Dialga today, thanks to some helpful items and Great Balls. We both have Mega Blastoise already so it’s back to regular grinding for us.

One additional note on the Mega Blastoise repeat event, and something I didn’t notice about the Mega Lucario repeat event – rather than being a timed challenge, the repeat events involve the standard stage with limited moves. This is good news for those who missed out on getting the Mega Stones offered previously because they aren’t good at timed challenges.

I mentioned regular grinding and I guess this is a good time to talk about some tips for Pokemon Shuffle. In this game, you “grind” for two things – experience so you can level up your Pokemon, and coins for buying items. Last month, I learned from various message boards that it’s best to “train” for experience on the Ampharos and the Banette stages – the Ampharos stage offers the most experience points out of all the stages (save for the Snorlax stage, which is harder to beat) while the Banette stage is good for training individual Pokemon due to how the stage works. Well, I learned last week that you can grind for coins on the Meowth stage.

To be honest, I’ve known about this for quite some time but I never bothered to really understand how it worked until last week. Basically, you have up to eight moves on the Meowth stage. At the start, there are three Coins on the board, and before you use up your eight moves two more Coins pop up as Meowth‘s disruption. Forming a five coin match will net you 500 coins. Forming a four coin match will get you 300 coins, while a three coin match will get you 100 coins. If you can meet that requirement AND beat the stage within the allowed eight moves, you can earn the respective amounts plus the 30 coin reward that you get for beating a stage. You won’t get the additional coins if you accidentally beat the stage before matching up your coins (it happens when you run into those unintentional combos) and you get nothing if you’re unable to beat the stage, so it’s not that easy.

Still, the Meowth stage is very, very helpful – even if you just get a three coin match, you’ll end up with 130 coins at the end – which is more than what you’ll get for beating a stage four times. (I’ll mention this here – there’s a special Meowth stage that appears during weekends where you can earn so much more coins, but that’s a different topic altogether).

Again, this is very, very helpful. Since I fully realized how to play the Meowth stage properly, I’ve been racking up enough coins for me to buy items in the remaining stages that I haven’t gotten an S rank on. Because of that, the Genesect Expert stage is now available, and I’m now working on getting the rest of the Expert stages.

a 3ds - minis on the move

Mario and Donkey Kong: Minis on the Move

I’m still allocating some time on Mario and Donkey Kong: Minis on the Move but I haven’t been progressing as fast as I did before because of the current game mode that I’m playing. The puzzles in the Puzzle Palace mode are much more difficult than any I’ve encountered in Mario’s Main Event. I’m currently at Level 48 and there are 13 more puzzles left to solve in this mode not including the Expert levels.

There are two other game modes that I’ve yet to really try playing, so it looks like it’s going to take me a while to beat this game. I think both this and Pokemon Shuffle will both serve as my “palate cleansers” for quite a while.

a 3ds - super smash bros

Super Smash Bros.

It’s been rumored/leaked that Ryu (from the Street Fighter  franchise) is going to be one of the new DLC characters for Super Smash Bros. for quite some time now. I don’t know exactly when it was confirmed, but yesterday I caught wind of Ryu being released. I’ve been pretty lukewarm about this whole concept of DLC for Super Smash Bros. even when I heard about Ryu being one, but after I read a few details about how Ryu‘s Super Smash Bros. incarnation was going to be, I was sold. I bought the Ryu DLC as soon as I could and ended up playing Super Smash Bros. a lot today.

Why did I change my mind all of a sudden? First of all, I realized that even if you don’t purchase the DLC you’ll have to download the data anyway. It makes sense – how would someone with the DLC play matches against someone who doesn’t have it? You’d need to have a copy of the DLC saved on your copy of the game so that the DLC data is available on all devices whenever matches are played. And even if you don’t play with anyone with the DLC, you’ll need to update your copy of Super Smash Bros. in order to play online. Secondly, I read that Ryu gets to keep his Street Fighter moveset AND use Super Smash Bros. controls as well, which I found to be very interesting. Ryu seemed like he’d be a one of a kind character in Super Smash Bros., so I bought the DLC (along with the Mewtwo DLC).

I’ve been looking for a good secondary character in Super Smash Bros. that I can go to if I’m tired of playing as Link, and Ryu seems like he’s a good candidate. One thing’s for sure – getting this Ryu DLC will definitely result in more Super Smash Bros. play time.

And that’s it for today. Now that I’m done with Moshi Monsters: Katsuma Unleashed, I have IronFall Invasion lined up followed by The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

