Gaming Geek’s Log – 2015.06.02

Today, I’ll describe Weapon Shop de Omasse in a little more detail. I’ll also talk about recent Pokemon Shuffle updates and say a few more words about Super Smash Bros. and Mario and Donkey Kong: Minis on the Move.

a 3ds - weapon shop de omasse
Weapon Shop de Omasse

Weapon Shop de Omasse is the third Level-5 Guild game that I decided on getting last December 2014, and the one that I found most intriguing. I’ve spent around 4 hours on it already, so now I can talk about it in more detail.

Weapon Shop de Omasse is set in a medieval/fantasy world that’s common to a lot of RPGs but instead of being in the shoes of would-be adventurers out to save the world from total destruction, the game places you behind the counter of a weapons shop. Your responsibility is to forge a different array of weapons and rent them out to different kinds of adventurers to help them out on their quests.

In Weapon Shop de Omasse, you have two responsibilities – you have to make sure that your shop has enough stock by forging and/or polishing weapons as needed, and you’re responsible for choosing which weapons to rent out to each adventurer. Forging weapons involves a rhythm-based system wherein you have to time your hammer strikes according to the music that plays during forging, while polishing weapons involves simply rubbing your stylus as fast as you can without scratching the touchscreen.

Thankfully, there’s more to weapon forging and polishing to this game – the charm of Weapon Shop de Omasse actually comes from the interactions that you have with the different characters that come to rent weapons. The weapons that you forge actually allow you to keep track of what’s happening to the character that rented them out via a “Grindcast” – a text feed of what the character is saying and doing. There are two types of characters that you’ll encounter – the generic characters and the named characters. Generic characters just come and go, and their quests make jokes about RPGs in general. The named characters are the more interesting character type – each character has his/her own personality traits and archetypes that the game pokes fun at. They have their own main quest, and as you progress in the game you’ll get to watch each character get closer to their main goal.

The fun in Weapon Shop de Omasse comes mainly from your interactions with these characters and from how you manage your inventory. As you keep forging weapons, your character becomes stronger which then allows him to forge even stronger weapons; however, the success of your customers is reliant not only on the strength of the weapons that you forge. Each character has his/her own preferred weapon type and attack style, so you’ll need to match weapons up according to your customer and his/her specific quest. Some weapon types are generally strong (there are exceptions) in one or two attack types – Swords are normally good at Slash attacks, Spears are great at Piercing attacks, and Clubs are good at Blunt attacks. You may end up with a customer who prefers Swords and is good with Slashing attacks but is on a quest that involves monsters weak to Blunt attacks.

The game description of Weapon Shop de Omasse on the eShop talks about this anyway, so I don’t think this is spoilerish – there’s a bad guy referred to as the “Evil Lord” that is supposed to be returning. The end goal of the game is for you to be strong enough so that you can forge a weapon that can defeat the said Evil Lord. It’s neat to start seeing several characters start getting into situations that have something to do with this Evil Lord.

I’ll talk about Weapon Shop de Omasse some more next time. Right now, I can say that I’m enjoying my time with this, but I’m a little underwhelmed.

 

a 3ds - pokemon shufflePokemon Shuffle

There were several updates and new stuff since my last post, the first of which is a much-appreciated change in the game’s mechanics. I may have mentioned this before, but I think I need to restate this – Pokemon Shuffle is similar to some iOS and Facebook games in that you are limited to a specific number of plays at any given time. In Pokemon Shuffle, this is measured by Hearts and the game will generate one “regular” Heart every thirty minutes up to a maximum of five Hearts. You can earn additional Hearts beyond the maximum five as a bonus for different milestones, like getting a specific number of Street Pass tags. In the previous version though, as long as you have five or more Hearts, you won’t gain any additional “regular” Hearts. This resulted in you getting forced to play all your bonus Hearts so you can keep gaining “regular” Hearts.

Well, one of the updates released last week tweaked that – the game now has a separate counter for “regular” Hearts and “bonus” Hearts. The game also uses up “regular” Hearts first, so you can opt to just save up your “bonus” Hearts for later use. I think the same applies for any Hearts that you purchase with real money, but I can’t say for sure as I haven’t tried doing so. As I said, this is a welcome change – I’ve saved up 7 bonus Hearts for future events, instead of being forced to use them up unnecessarily.

There were other small updates, but the second update I want to talk about is the Mega Venusaur event. So we have another limited time event and another Mega Stone to earn; unlike Mega Banette, this Mega Stone is for the Grass-type Pokemon known as Venusaur, which is the evolved version of one of the three starter Pokemon in Pokemon Red/Blue.

To be honest, I wasn’t expecting this. I thought that the developers would cycle back through the previous Mega Events and that we’d see Mega Blastoise again, but I’m actually kind of glad that we’re getting a new Mega Stone. I’m happy with the brief “rest period” that the Mega Lucario event provided, and getting a Grass-type Mega-evolving Pokemon in the game (something that we don’t have yet) is welcome. This also points to a Mega Charizard event in the near future, and I’m looking forward to that.

 

a 3ds - super smash bros

Super Smash Bros.

I know I should be training my Mega Man amiibo, but the amiibo concept kind of lost its luster a little. Amiibos are a little unfair in that they’re much stronger than any human player can be, and no one else in my group has them so it’s not like I can pit my amiibo against anyone elses. Instead, I’ve been spending my Super Smash Bros. time on the Smash Run mode, with the goal of getting as many Custom Moves as I can (one of the remaining Challenges that I’ve yet to meet).

I don’t know if I should be happy, but there are still so many Custom Moves that I haven’t gotten yet, despite playing Smash Run (and the other modes) several times over. The fun in having Custom Moves is that you can change each character to better suit your preferred playstyle, but you can’t really do that if you don’t have all of the Custom Moves available. I guess the problem is, there’s no guaranteed way to get the Custom Moves that you need. Every thing is just so random – you can play an entire round of Smash Run and get Custom Moves that you already have, or Custom Moves for a totally different character. You can even play a round and not get any Custom Moves at the end! Right now, I’m still getting at least one new Custom Move in at least three rounds of Smash Run – I shudder thinking about what’s going to happen once I’m only lacking one or two.

 

a 3ds - minis on the move

Mario and Donkey Kong: Minis on the Move

I experienced this problem with Pushmo, and now I’m experiencing this again with Mario and Donkey Kong: Minis on the Move – there are just days when my mind can’t deal with a puzzle game. I’m still playing my way through the Puzzle Palace mode, trying to beat a puzzle or two every other day. I think I should accept that Mario and Donkey Kong: Minis on the Move isn’t a game that I should aim to beat once I start playing it. There’s still a lot of unsolved puzzles in the game, and I haven’t even tried one of the four main puzzle modes nor any of the available mini games.

Once I’m done with Weapon Shop de Omasse, I’ll start considering whether to focus on this game or keep it as a palate cleanser. Right now, this game is competing against Pokemon Shuffle and Super Smash Bros. for those short pockets of free time that I’m able to find every now and then, so progress has been very slow.

 

And that’s all for today. I think Weapon Shop de Omasse will take me another week or two to beat; once I’m done with it, I’ll probably start my Majora’s Mask 3D playthrough.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

