Gaming Geek’s Log – 2015.05.11

A little soon for a journal update, but a lot happened in the last couple of days that’s worth writing about. Today, I’ll talk about Pokemon Shuffle, Super Smash Bros., Dillon’s Rolling Western, and The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D.

a 3ds - pokemon shuffle

Pokemon Shuffle

There was a big update for Pokemon Shuffle earlier today. There’s another Special stage that was released, the Regirock Great Challenge, and thankfully it will last for 14 days. It’s a difficult stage, so hard that I haven’t even come close to beating Regirock, so I don’t know what the catch rate is going to be. Along with the update comes more Main stages, which means more Pokemon to catch and at least one Mega Pokemon and a new Mega Stone waiting for us.

Prior to the update, I was able to successfully catch Xerneas so I had very few goals left to pursue, so this update is a welcome breath of fresh air for me. Unlike before where I’d only feel like I progressed if one of my Pokemon went up a level, I’ll start getting that sense of progression that comes with catching new Pokemon.

Some time in the last couple of days, I accumulated a hundred hours of playtime for Pokemon Shuffle (not counting my girlfriend’s play time on the Nintendo 2DS). For a “freemium” game, that’s quite impressive. I think it’s high time that I finished my Pokemon Shuffle writeup so I can share what makes this game good.

 

a 3ds - super smash bros

Super Smash Bros.

I found a Mega Man amiibo when I visited one of our local video game retailers and after learning that it was only the second Mega Man amiibo that the store was able to get their hands on, I couldn’t stop myself from buying it. I wasn’t able to go into detail when I first wrote about not being able to get a Mega Man amiibo previously, so here’s what happened.

When I saw updates via my social media accounts that the Mega Man amiibo finally reached our shores, I sent an inquiry to the same retailer where I would eventually buy Mega Man. They informed me that they only received one Mega Man amiibo, and that one of my friends had already reserved it.

That happened around two months ago. Since then, I’ve been visiting other video game retailers and I’ve never seen anyone carry stock of the Mega Man amiibo, until yesterday. According to the storekeep, that Mega Man amiibo is only the second one that they’ve had and just like the other time, it was the only one that they received. I knew that this may be the last chance for me to get one for my collection, so I went ahead and bought it.

It came at a good time too. My Toon Link is already at Level 50 (the highest level possible) so training it has lost it’s novelty. Now that I have a new amiibo to train, I’m back to playing Super Smash Bros. again. I’ve actually been playing not just Smash Run, but I’ve also been going through Trophy Rush to get more excess equipment for my amiibo. It’s a good thing that I’ve been trying Trophy Rush again; I thought I already have all of the non-All Star/Classic mode related trophies but every now and then I’ve been getting a new trophy from Trophy Rush.

I didn’t expect to be able to add Mega Man to my collection, but I did and I’m glad. Mega Man is a great “sidekick” to have in tag team matchups, just as Toon Link was. Can’t wait to train it up to Level 50 and watch both of my amiibo in a no-holds barred one on one match soon.

a 3ds - dillons rolling western

Dillon’s Rolling Western

I was only able to play Dillon’s Rolling Western twice, going through Day 1 of Stage 9, and what I experienced pretty much reinforced the realizations that I had regarding this game. In my initial run of Day 1, my exploration paths were inefficient – I ended up backtracking and/or going over the same paths multiple times because I missed something important. But it wasn’t that impactful – in my second attempt, the only improvement was that I had gotten a little more cash than on my first try.

What really made my first attempt a failure was me making a wrong choice once the Grocks had started invading. There were around four Grocks invading from the northwest and two from the northeast and I opted to engage what the game refers to as a Magmagrock which was coming from the northwest thinking that I would be able to dispatch it easily, instead of the Megagrock that was from the northeast. Well, I ended up struggling with the Magmagrock, allowing the Megagrock to invade the village that I was protecting without any trouble. The game was far from over, but I ended up losing a substantial number of Scrogs. Since my earnings are based on the number of remaining Scrogs at the end of the day, I opted to start over. Note that this involved the initial wave of Grocks for the day.

Knowing what to expect, I changed my strategy in my second attempt at the round. I prioritized engaging the Megagrocks and left most of the other Grocks to the defense towers that I put up, and I’m glad to say that I survived the round with no Scrog casualties.

I’m anticipating the same for the rest of the rounds that I have yet to play, that some unexpected event during the Grock invasion will throw a wrench in my defense plans. I’m a little eager to finish my initial playthrough of Dillon’s Rolling Western because of the game that I’ll talk about shortly, so I’m hoping that the next couple of rounds won’t give me as much trouble.

a 3ds - zelda majoras mask 3d

The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D

Originally, I wasn’t planning on buying The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D until July because I still had several games that I’ve yet to play. For anyone keeping score, the last time that I bought a retail release was back in January when I bought a copy of Conception 2: Children of the Seven Stars (not counting Moshi Monsters: Katsuma Unleashed which was bundled with the New Nintendo 3DS XL). That’s around four months of not buying any new games.

Despite already having a copy of The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D, I’m saving it for last. After Dillon’s Rolling Western, I still have Mario and Donkey Kong: Minis on the Move, IronFall: Invasion, and Weapon Shop de Omasse waiting to be played. All three games will probably keep me occupied for the entire May and June (especially since I’m also playing Pokemon Shuffle on the side), so I don’t think I’ll start my Majora’s Mask 3D playthrough until then. This purchase means that I’ll have to write a new Buy List post for June though.

Oh yeah, I think it would be a waste if I didn’t give Moshi Monsters: Katsuma Unleashed a chance, so I’m going to have to try that game out before I even think about playing Majora’s Mask 3D.

And that’s all for today. I hope that I’ll be able to find some free time this week so I can start on a new game. I guess we’ll see what happens in my next journal entry. Until then!

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

