The Buy List – May 2015

I said I’d retire my Buy List series of articles because I wasn’t planning on buying any new games for the foreseeable future. I still don’t plan on buying any new games, but I might come across additional funds soon that will allow me to make a purchase. I’ve had my eye new games recently and actually have a plan of what to buy and in what order, so I think a new Buy List article is in order. So here are the games that I’m thinking of buying, as well as the games that I’m taking off my list…

the buy list logo

Recently purchased:

I’ve mostly been ignoring any digital-only purchases for this series of articles, but I’m revisiting that approach simply because if I don’t, I’ll just write “nothing” in this section which isn’t really accurate. Including digital-only purchases gives me more stuff to write about, so I’m changing that starting with this post.

Ironfall_Invasion_Logo.

IronFall: Invasion

So after buying my New Nintendo 3DS XL, I ended up buying IronFall: Invasion around week after it came out. Initially, I only downloaded the free version but I liked the game so much that I knew I would want to play more of it. For a reasonable price of $10, I’m basically getting the closest thing to a single player Gears of War or Halo experience that’s available on the 3DS. For another $10, I’m getting the rest of the available maps, character models, and weapons for multiplayer sessions plus the jukebox feature so I can listen to the game’s soundtrack. IronFall: Invasion also maximizes the additional features of my New Nintendo 3DS XL, justifying my upgrade.

pokemon battle trozei

Pokemon Battle Trozei

My girlfriend and I are really hooked on Pokemon Shuffle right now, but I have other games that I enjoy playing so I don’t mind having to wait for Hearts to regenerate – I can play my other games while waiting. That’s not the case for my girlfriend, so I decided to get her a copy of Pokemon Battle Trozei for her. Pokemon Battle Trozei was supposed to be similar to Pokemon Shuffle, so I thought she’d find it a good alternative.

Well, Pokemon Battle Trozei is also a match three puzzle game, but the mechanics are quite different from Pokemon Shuffle so the experience is totally different. And that’s in a bad way – my girlfriend didn’t get into the game as I had hoped. I’ve tried the game myself and I share the same sentiment – it’s just not as fun as Pokemon Shuffle.  I haven’t really spent enough time with this to get a handle on how different this game is exactly that’s making it less fun for us, but as of now I’m a little disappointed.

Off the List:

3ds - monster hunter 4 ultimate

Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate

I really was interested in Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate but after thinking on it, I realized that this game really doesn’t suit the kind of gaming experience that I want right now. I really prefer playing games that have a clear ending so I can keep playing other games, and Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate simply isn’t like that. Right now, I don’t want to be limited to playing just one game for a long period of time. People can argue that I can play this game casually and not devote all my free time to it, but that’s not what I’m seeing.

So, in one Street Pass meet up that I attended, there were two people in a Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate session. I asked a third, who also had a copy of Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate, why he didn’t join the session. He told me that his character wasn’t strong enough to be effective, that he’d just be cannon fodder.

That says a lot about Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate. I don’t want to be obligated to spend my time on the game so I won’t be left out of hunting sessions. I’ve already experienced being nothing more than a paperweight in Fantasy Life multiplayer sessions, and it’s not a fun experience. So I’m no longer going to bother with this game.

 

shin megami tensei iv - box

Shin Megami Tensei IV

Simply put, there are just other games that I have more interest in than Shin Megami Tensei IV at the moment. That doesn’t mean that I’m no longer interested in this game, it’s just not something I want to get into right now. Shin Megami Tensei IV offers a unique modern day RPG experience with supernatural elements that was received critical acclaim, so it’s definitely a game that I’d like to add to my 3DS game library eventually.

 

3ds code name steam

Codename S.T.E.A.M.

Similar to Shin Megami Tensei IV, I’m still interested in Codename S.T.E.A.M., but not as much. Right now, Fire Emblem Awakening still appeases my desire to play a tactical/strategy RPG so there’s no room for Codename S.T.E.A.M. yet. Unlike Shin Megami Tensei IV, I’m not entirely sure that this game will continue to hold my interest. Fire Emblem IF is in the horizon; when that game gets localized and released, I may end up going for that instead of this game.

The Buy List:

pokemon art academy - box art

5. Pokemon Art Academy

My girlfriend recently started getting into art to fill her idle time but I don’t think she’s had any formal art lessons. I then remembered the Art Academy series and how it was positively received upon it’s release. We just watched a video of the game and it looks like Pokemon Art Academy does have lessons on different art techniques that will work in real life. So I’m mainly thinking of getting this game for her, but I’m also considering going through some of the lessons so I can also improve my very limited art skills.

One thing that’s preventing me from pulling the trigger on this right now is that we’re not quite sure how long she’ll continue to have idle time. She may become very busy starting in June, so buying this may become a waste.

Also, Pokemon Art Academy is the only game in my five-item list that’s an iffy purchase. If everything goes as planned, the next four games are sure purchases.

 

virtue's last reward - box

4. Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward

I’ve had my eye on Virtue’s Last Reward for a long time now and whenever I drop by nearby video game retailers I always make it a point to check if they have copies available, and they never do. I have to admit, I’ve been very passive about making this purchase, not bothering to confirm if they have any copies that weren’t placed on their shelves nor asking if I could order a copy.

I think it’s time to start pursuing a copy more aggressively, especially after I’ve gotten my hands on the other games that I have on this list. Virtue’s Last Reward can provide a much different experience from the other games that are in my collection, so it’s definitely a must have in my eyes. I’m even considering to put up ads for used copies once I’ve bought games 1-3 of this list. Hopefully, I’ll have this added in my collection by the end of the year, at the very latest.

 

senran kagura 2 deep crimson - boxart3. Senran Kagura 2: Deep Crimson

Senran Kagura 2: Deep Crimson simply has a lot of things going for it. It’s a side scrolling beat ’em up game, which is something that I’ve been looking to add to my game library. It has a limited physical release, so it has a certain air of rarity to it. And it’s filled to the brim with ecchi fanservice, something that’s very uncommon for a Nintendo device. Because of the limited physical release, I believe that if I don’t chase after this aggressively, I’m going to miss out. And I simply don’t want to miss out.

The retail release date for Senran Kagura 2: Deep Crimson has been pegged at August 11, 2015. If I’m unable to secure a physical copy, I’m unlikely to purchase a digital one. If I haven’t had the chance to buy items 1 and/or 2 of this list by the time this game is released, I’ll definitely prioritize this. So the plan is for me to be able to buy the next two games and still have enough funds for this purchase.

 

Xenoblade Chronicles 3D - box art

2. Xenoblade Chronicles 3D

 Xenoblade Chronicles is one of those games that I was interested in playing back then, but never had the chance to. I was keeping an eye out for this game back when I was still looking to add to my collection of Wii and I never had the chance to do that because I never found a copy. The New Nintendo 3DS edition of Xenoblade Chronicles is another chance for me to play this game.

What really convinced me to decide to get this game however, is the fact that Xenoblade Chronicles 3D is the first and currently only game that’s exclusive to the New Nintendo 3DS. This game can only be played by people like me who own a New Nintendo 3DS – that’s a level of exclusivity right there that I’d be depriving myself if I don’t get this game.

But beyond that, as an owner of the New Nintendo 3DS, I want to see more New Nintendo 3DS exclusives to be released. I know that it’s a little selfish to want games to be published that owners of the older 3DS models can’t play, but I want to play games that maximize the newer, upgraded model’s capabilities. The last piece of news I read about Xenoblade Chronicles 3D said that sales weren’t good enough, and this might affect Nintendo’s plans of releasing more New Nintendo 3DS exclusives in the future. I just want to do my part and buy a copy – I’m getting a really good game out of it, anyway.

3ds - the legend of zelda majoras mask 3d

1. The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D

Is there anything else that I can say about this game? I’ve had my eye on this since the rumors surrounding it’s release started to sound like they were through. Considered by some to be one of the best The Legend of Zelda games ever released, I told myself that I wouldn’t miss out if in case the rumors of a 3DS release were indeed true.

Despite just having played Ocarina of Time 3D, I’m still very high on Majora’s Mask 3D. Even if the mechanics of both games are quite similar, the idea of turning back time and having to re-do your actions has the potential of offering a much different gaming experience. And it’s not often that Nintendo veers away from their standard Legend of Zelda formula, so it’s a good opportunity to play a different kind of Legend of Zelda game.

An additional reason for me to go and grab a copy of The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D is that there’s a recent trend of Nintendo releasing remastered editions of older games. If we only look at older Nintendo first party games for the 3DS, we’d already have four – Star Fox 64 3D, The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D, Xenoblade Chronicles 3D, and now The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D. I’d like to see other older Nintendo games to be remade for the 3DS. If me buying a copy of The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D will help show Nintendo that there’s a lot of money to be made in re-releasing their older games for the 3DS, then I’m going to do my part. So the question isn’t whether I’m getting The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D or not, the question is when.

And the answer to that, is sometime this year. The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D is my number one priority (until Senran Kagura 2: Deep Crimson is released).

 

And these are my plans for the near future. I don’t see any other games that would take the place of the top four in this list. I also don’t see myself making any purchases in the next few months, so I probably won’t compose another Buy List article until August 2015.

Leave a comment

Filed under Nintendo 3DS, The Buy List, Video games

Leave a Reply

