In the Crosshairs – Attack on Titan: Humanity in Chains

Every now and then, there’s an announcement of the release of a new 3DS game that I’m interested in getting. Because I’m retiring my Buy List series of articles for the time being, I’m replacing it with a new series of articles where I get to share my thoughts on these new 3DS game announcements and why they got my attention. Today, I’m going to talk about Attack on Titan: Humanity in Chains.

crosshairs-attack-on-titan

I didn’t know much about the Attack on Titan franchise but I’ve been seeing it mentioned in several discussions about games they’d like to see localized. There was some hype around it when its North America release was announced in this month’s Nintendo Direct, so I got curious.

Attack on Titan: Humanity in Chains is the localized version of Shingeki no Kyojin: Jinrui Saigo no Tsubasa, a game released for the 3DS in Japan last 2013. The game is based on the popular Attack on Titan manga/anime franchise which revolves around a world where mankind is besieged with Titans – giant, humanoid creatures that feed on humans.

What I knew initially from announcements was that Attack on Titan: Humanity in Chains featured four player co-op local and online multiplayer gameplay, and that was enough for me to become interested in the title. After all, I’m a guy who enjoys playing multiplayer games during StreetPass sessions so I’m always on the lookout for any games that I could potentially play in those, but because there are so many other new releases that have my attention I was forced to get more information than what the announcements have.

It turns out that the game closely follows its source material (not sure if its based on the manga or the anime) and puts you in the shoes of people who need to defend themselves against these Titans using what is called the 3D Maneuver Gear that have steam-powered grappling hooks to help these humans level the playing field. Using this gear results in a lot of swinging around between buildings getting incorporated in the battle mechanics, and that’s something that I can really get into. I’ve played several Spider-Man themed videogames and I’ve often enjoyed the addition of swinging mechanics in the action/battle mechanics of those games, so I can only imagine how that would play out in a four player co-op game.

Attack on Titan also features human protagonists that can change into Titans and from what I’ve read, Attack on Titan: Humanity in Chains also has sequences wherein you’d get to control a Titan. While reviews have been lukewarm when it comes to the Titan sequences because of the camera, I’m still a little curious as to how it would play out, especially since the North America release will be compatible with the C-Stick on the New Nintendo 3DS.

One thing I don’t like about the localized version of Attack on Titan: Humanity in Chains is that it will only be released in digital format. Based on screen captures that I’ve seen, it looks like Attack on Titan: Humanity in Chains is a big enough game to justify a physical release and it was released in physical form in Japan so that’s a bit of a downer for me. Attack on Titan: Humanity in Chains will feature DLCs and digital releases tend to be cheaper than physical releases, so that might alleviate my disappointment in the lack of a physical copy.

With all that said, I’m keeping my eye on Attack on Titan: Humanity in Chain especially since it’ll be released some time next month. The game’s source material is compelling enough (I’m actually thinking of watching the anime) and having a four player co-op multiplayer mode is a big reason for me to consider purchasing a copy. If the price is right, the reviews are positive, and enough of my friends decide to purchase this game, I’m probably going to pull the trigger on this as well.

Leave a comment

Filed under In the Crosshairs

Leave a Reply

