Gaming Geek’s Log – 2015.04.13

There were some changes to my video game rotation – today, I’ll be talking about The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D, Dillon’s Rolling Western, Pokemon Shuffle, and Fire Emblem Awakening.

The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D

In just a short span of time, I managed to beat The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D and have now unlocked the Master Quest portion of the game. I’m also proud to say that I beat this game without consulting any guides to get me through the puzzles and dungeons, although I did use guides to get to this one chest in the Fire Temple that I had trouble getting to (after I had beaten the dungeon) as well as getting some of the Heart Pieces and the fourth bottle.

I’d like to mention that I was anticipating some trouble with certain parts of this game, particularly the horse race and the footrace, simply because I had trouble with those portions when I played the Gamecube version of this game. But I simply breezed through these parts this time around. Not sure if it’s because I’ve gotten better at playing video games, or because I’ve already played this game before.

In any case, this is one more game off of my backlog and another game added to my “replay” list. I’ve never seen the Master Quest version of this game before, so I’m looking forward to when I’m able to play this game again.

Dillon’s Rolling Western

Instead of starting my “replays” I opted to play a game that I haven’t played before and chose Dillon’s Rolling Western, thinking that this would be a quick game to beat. Well, I was wrong. Based on how I’m progressing, it looks like Dillon’s Rolling Western will keep me occupied for a few weeks.

I’ve been eyeing Dillon’s Rolling Western since it was offered as a Club Nintendo reward last December 2013, but I didn’t have enough coins to be able to redeem it. It was one of the many games offered as a reward to elite Club Nintendo members last 2014, but I only achieved Gold status so I still couldn’t get a copy of it. I was finally able to get a copy when it was offered as a reward several months ago as part of the closure of the Club Nintendo rewards program, and I don’t regret choosing this as one of the titles that I redeemed.

Dillon’s Rolling Western is a tower defense style game but with a different “spin” (pun intended for those in the know) and I’ll talk more about this game on my next journal update. All I can say right now is that I’m enjoying the game a lot.

Fire Emblem Awakening

I’m still playing Fire Emblem Awakening whenever I need a break from the intense gameplay of Dillon’s Rolling Western and if I don’t have hearts in Pokemon Shuffle, but after recruiting another of the “secret” characters, I got stuck. All the other battles that I can fight, I end up losing badly. Since my girlfriend is back, I’m already able to use the Nintendo 2DS and can access my DLCs, but I haven’t really done any battles strictly for grinding. Instead, I tried out the first mission in the Future Past DLC set, and I still ended up losing.

Well, let me clarify – I don’t actually lose the battles, but someone in my army always gets killed and because of the permadeath, I end up restarting the battle. I just don’t want to lose any of these characters, so I’m basically stuck. I’m even having trouble keeping everyone alive in all the StreetPass battles that I’ve been trying out. I think I’ll need to do some serious grinding to be able to win in these battles, but that’ll take some time and I’d rather focus that on my other games.

I only have two other “secret” characters to get, and then I can try to get that more complete ending that I’ve been wanting. But I think I’ll continue to take my time with this game and just play it casually.

Something else to mention – my girlfriend reacted when she saw me playing Fire Emblem Awakening again. “You’re still playing that?” Well, yeah. Fire Emblem Awakening is just that good. And she gave this game to me as a gift, so it’s even more special.

Pokemon Shuffle

Yesterday marked the end of the Mega Blastoise event and after much fussing and toiling, both me and my girlfriend were awarded Blastoisinites, allowing us to use Mega Blastoise in our battles. Which is awesome because I only have two uncaught Pokemon left, and one of those is the Fire type Pokemon called Blaziken. Blaziken has been giving me a lot of trouble, and it helps that I finally have a Water type Pokemon that can Mega Evolve. I still haven’t managed to beat the little bugger consistently though.

Blaziken is actually more of a distraction right now. I’m currently stuck at Stage 150 where I’m supposed to beat Mega Mewtwo Y. Beating Mega Mewtwo Y would unlock more stages, and I can catch more Pokemon in those stages. So now I’m focusing on beating Mega Mewtwo Y and have been training my Dark type team, instead of going after Blaziken.

And that’s one of the many reasons why Pokemon Shuffle was able to hook me. I better finish my write up for this game soon so I can verbalize all the other reasons why I’m so addicted. For a free game (with microtransactions that you don’t really need to avail), this is amazing.

And that’s all for today. I’ve said it several times, but I’ll continue to say it – I’m really glad I own a 3DS and I’m really happy with my 3DS game library. I’d say this is the handheld console to own, if you can choose only one.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

