In the Crosshairs – Xenoblade Chronicles 3D

Every now and then, there’s an announcement of the release of a new 3DS game that I’m interested in getting. Because I’m retiring my Buy List series of articles for the time being, I’m replacing it with a new series of articles where I get to share my thoughts on these new 3DS game announcements and why they got my attention. Today, I’m going to talk about Xenoblade Chronicles 3D.

crosshairs-xenoblade-chronicles-3d

I wasn’t really that interested in Xenoblade Chronicles 3D at first, primarily because there were other releases that had my attention, such as The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D and Codename S.T.E.A.M.  But right after the Nintendo Direct last April 2, I became aware that Xenoblade Chronicles 3D will be released this April 10, just a few days from today! And that got me thinking – should I be looking into this title?

What do I know about Xenoblade Chronicles 3D? First of all, it’s a remake of Xenoblade Chronicles, an RPG that was released for the Nintendo Wii in North America last 2012. It’s release is actually a story in its own – originally released only in Japan and Europe, Xenoblade Chronicles was part of a fan campaign called Operation Rainfall which basically petitioned for 3 Nintendo Wii role playing games to be released in North America.

All three games were eventually released as petitioned but I had trouble finding copies of them, especially Xenoblade Chronicles. I happened upon an old list of Wii games to get and Xenoblade Chronicles was in that list, but that list was more of a list of titles to watch out for in case I saw some people selling Wii games.

Another thing that I know about Xenoblade Chronicles 3D is that it is the first game to come out that’s exclusive for the New Nintendo 3DS, and for some time it’s going to be the only game that’s exclusive for the upgraded model as there haven’t been any additional releases announced so far.

Review scores have been coming in and reception has been generally positive, but I’ve been too busy to really look into what Xenoblade Chronicles 3D has to offer. The original release was critically acclaimed, with a rating of 92 on Metacritic, as well as getting several different awards when it was released.

So let’s go through my thought process when it comes to this game. Xenoblade Chronicles 3D is a remake of an award-winning and positively received game originally released on the Nintendo Wii. The original Wii release is considerably rare, to the point that I’ve never seen one in person. I’ve never seen anyone selling it, and I’ve never seen it in stores. Finally, it’s a role-playing game (a genre that I enjoy playing) and unique in the sense that it’s the first and currently only game that’s exclusive to the New Nintendo 3DS.

I think, if I go by just these points, Xenoblade Chronicles 3D is definitely something that I should consider adding to my collection. Having a New Nintendo 3DS exclusive game maximizes the features of the device and in turn, makes my early adoption a really good decision. And I should really look at this as a second opportunity to get and play a really good game that I missed when it originally came out, like when I was finally able to play the Gamecube remake of Resident Evil or Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes. The more I think about it, the more interested I get about Xenoblade Chronicles 3D. Yep, I’m definitely interested in this game.

Leave a comment

Filed under In the Crosshairs

Leave a Reply

