Gaming Geek’s Log – 2015.04.04

I’ve been making sure to free up at least an hour or two daily to play video games, so I’ve made some progress the past few days in Fire Emblem Awakening, The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D, IronFall Invasion, and Pokémon Shuffle and I’d like to talk about these games today as well as my “Throwback Thursday” plan.

Fire Emblem Awakening

I started playing Fire Emblem Awakening again last week, picking up where I left off when I gave this game a rest. Yesterday, I finally got the remaining Support Conversations that I could get. Everyone that can be paired off already has a partner. So if I try to beat this game again, I’m going to get a complete Ending sequence this time.

I’m not quite satisfied with that, though. I have yet to get three more additional characters and I want to get them and get their Support Conversations, but the missions where you can get them are really hard. My strongest character, Chrom, can usually win battles on his own, but in these particular missions he’s very vulnerable. I don’t know if I can afford the grinding needed to win these missions, especially since I’m playing this game on my New Nintendo 3DS XL and all my DLCs are saved in the 2DS which is with my girlfriend right now so I’ll have to do it without the benefit of those DLC missions. I’ll try, but if it’s too hard, I may have to settle for what I have now.

The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D

It’s been years since I last played Ocarina of Time – it’s been so long ago that I don’t even have a write up of the version that I played, which was on the Gamecube. So I’m a little surprised at how much of it I remember, now that I’m playing the 3DS remake. I’m just finding Heart Pieces and Skulltulas left and right, and I’m already done with the Fire Temple even if I haven’t even reached twenty hours with this game. Some sequences that I remember having trouble with back then, I breezed through this time around. I wonder if this will be the case when I start replaying my other 3DS games.

Another thing I want to say about Ocarina of Time 3D is that I love how it has immersed me in it’s story, even if the game doesn’t have long cutscenes. I’ll give a slightly spoilerish example – at some point in the game, you basically get thrown seven years in the future and you’ll get to visit the same places. Three of these places will seem to have been deserted, and I found myself wondering where all those inhabitants went once I got to those places. Even without any cutscenes, I’m pretty sure that the same thing is going through Link’s mind. To be able to make you, the player, feel and think what your character is feeling and thinking without any exposition, is pretty impressive. Ocarina of Time 3D is simply immersive.

IronFall Invasion

Because I have several games in my rotation, I’m actually saving IronFall Invasion for later, after I beat Ocarina of Time 3D and maybe even after I’m done replaying one of my older 3DS games. Still, I’ve been playing this game’s Survivor Mode and I find that IronFall Invasion is a great palate cleanser. A round of Survivor Mode goes for just two minutes and is quick to setup, so you can play several rounds in a span of fifteen minutes – perfect for a quick break or for when I don’t have enough free time available. As a result, this game pretty much sneaked into my regular rotation.

Pokemon Shuffle

The more I play of Pokémon Shuffle, the more I get addicted to it. The game’s mechanics just click for me – the free-to-play mechanic of having limited plays ensures that I don’t play too much of it at any given moment, and having to wait for some time to pass to get more plays means that I can play my other games for an hour and then get back to Pokémon Shuffle after. With each stage that I beat, even on a replay, gives me a sense of progress – whether it’s through getting a higher rank, earning coins, or catching another Pokémon to add to my collection/army.

Since downloading Pokémon Shuffle, I’ve already spent more than 30 hours on it. And one thing that I’d like to emphasize – I haven’t spent a single cent on the game, despite it having micro-transactions. I like this game so much that I’m going to try to do a writeup for this before doing one for the other games that I’ve completed in the last couple of months. Being that this game is free, I highly recommend this game to anyone with a 3DS and I’ll explain why when I finally get to do my writeup.

Throwback Thursday

My obsessive-compulsive side got me to start this thing where I’d revisit an older game every Thursday for at least an hour, basically to force me to get more playtime from the games that I’ve purchased. And you know what? It does give me the sense that I’m really squeezing my money’s worth out of these games. I’ve been revisiting games like Super Street Fighter IV 3D, WWE All Stars, and Mario Kart 7; games that I haven’t played in quite some time. It really helps break the monotony of playing the same three/four games and it reminds me of why I bought these games in the first place. It’s weird that I have to do this, but it works and it helps take away that desire to purchase a new game.

 

And that’s it for today’s entry. I’m really happy with the progress that I’ve been making with my games, and I think that eventually I’ll have a reason to buy a new game by August.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

