In the Crosshairs – Etrian Odyssey 2: The Fafnir Knight

Every now and then, there’s an announcement of the release of a new 3DS game that I’m interested in getting. Because I’m retiring my Buy List series of articles for the time being, I’m replacing it with a new series of articles where I get to share my thoughts on these new 3DS game announcements and why they got my attention. Today, I’m going to talk about Etrian Odyssey 2: The Fafnir Knight.

crosshairs - etrian odyssey 2

I never really considered playing any of the Etrian Odyssey games until I was faced with choosing between Persona Q: Shadow of the Labyrinth and Etrian Odyssey Untold: The Millenium Girl, but I knew a few things about the series. The first three Etrian Odyssey games came out on the Nintendo DS and they were all dungeon crawler type RPGs with a unique map-making feature as one of it’s selling points.

I ended up buying Etrian Odyssey Untold: The Millenium Girl instead of Persona Q and because of that, I got really interested in the Etrian Odyssey series. Etrian Odyssey Untold: The Millenium Girl is a remake of the first Etrian Odyssey game and I liked my experience with it a lot that I’ve been watching the grapevine for any news about Atlus remaking Etrian Odyssey 2. I didn’t have to wait that long as earlier this year, there was an announcement that Etrian Odyssey Untold 2: The Fafnir Knight would be released for North America.

Announcements started having more information, with the latest one including a release date tentatively planned between May and June of this year and a pretty nice pre-order package.

etrian odyssey untold 2 - special ed

Basically, anyone who pre-orders Etrian Odyssey Untold 2: The Fafnir Knight will get an Official Staff Book which is a small 22 page artbook, a mini comic, a soundtrack CD, and a few other inserts. Pretty much what you’d expect from Atlus when it comes to their special editions.

In terms of the actual game, Etrian Odyssey Untold 2: The Fafnir Knight looks to be consistent with the first Etrian Odyssey Untold in that it’s a remake of Etrian Odyssey 2 and that it comes with a story mode and a classic mode. It retains a lot of the features that I liked from the first remake, including the famous map-making mechanics and the Grimoire skill system.

I had such a good time with Etrian Odyssey Untold: The Millenium Girl that I’ll be keeping an eye on the release of this. Given that I’m still quite busy with the games that I already have, I’m not super interested in Etrian Odyssey Untold 2: The Fafnir Knight but I’ll definitely check out any reviews that come out and decide by then if this is a must buy or just nice to have. This game is definitely on my radar though, and I think any RPG fan should at least consider looking into this.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under In the Crosshairs

Leave a Reply

