Gaming Geek’s Log – 2015.03.23

It’s been a full week since my last update and thankfully, I found enough time on my hands and was able to get some progress in the games that I’ve been playing. I’ll be talking about the games that are in my regular rotation: Pokemon Shuffle, Conception 2, Crimson Shroud, and The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D.

Pokemon Shuffle

I mentioned last week that my girlfriend started getting hooked on Pokemon Shuffle, and it happened just at the right time – last week, Nintendo started this week-long Mega Lucario special event wherein you’d have one minute to fight Mega Lucario and try to get the highest score that you can get. If your high score is in the top 20,000 at the end of the event, you’ll get a Lucarionite as a prize which is a requirement for evolving Lucario into Mega Lucario.

Now, I don’t have hard data on this but from what I’ve experienced, Lucario is someone who is strong against a lot of different Pokemon. At least when I utilize the “Optimize” function, Lucario gets automatically included in a lot of different teams. So having a Lucarionite would be really handy for battles. Today, the event reached its conclusion and I’m glad to say that both my girlfriend and I made it into the top 20,000. We now have our Lucarionites and I’ve had the chance to use Mega Lucario earlier in a battle.

I’m really glad that my girlfriend is starting to enjoy Pokemon Shuffle because it feels good to have someone else who’s interested in playing a game that you’re also playing. It’s nice to play the game at the same time as she is, we get to talk about our progress in the game and exchange tips and tricks.

Not everything is peachy though. Immediately after the Mega Lucario event is the start of another event in the game. This time around, we’ve got another set of Daily Pokemon to catch from today until April 18. Additionally, the mythical Pokemon known as Keldeo is also up for grabs from today until April 6. Thankfully, I was able to catch Keldeo almost immediately, so I won’t be obligated to keep playing Pokemon Shuffle all week. I was a big Avengers Alliance fan and played it often back in the day, until I got tired of all the limited time events that made playing the game become an obligation. I hope Pokemon Shuffle doesn’t become something similar.

Crimson Shroud

I finally finished my second playthrough of Crimson Shroud and I definitely got my money’s worth, playing the game for almost 20 hours total. I really hope I can find the time to do a write up for this game; I’ve been really busy and have been sitting on several articles for quite some time now. There are a few things worth mentioning about Crimson Shroud, about what to expect from the game, why it can be boring and what makes it fun to play. I enjoyed my time with it, and I’m actually interested in doing a third playthrough if ever I run out of games to play (which is very unlikely).

The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D

Finally, I got to start my playthrough of The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D, and I’m really glad I waited until I had a New Nintendo 3DS XL before I started playing because this game really looks amazing in stereoscopic 3D.

This is actually the third time that I’ve played this game so I’m quite familiar with how the first few events play out. I managed to beat the first dungeon without any trouble and I still remember everything that I’ve encountered thus far, so I’m looking forward to getting to parts of the game that I don’t remember that clearly.

One thing I’m sure of is this will be like Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater 3D in that I can’t play this game in short bursts. I have to at least have an hour of free uninterrupted time to play this and enjoy it. I think I’ll be slogging through this game for the next couple of months. I’m actually wondering if I’ll still be interested in picking up the sequel, Majora’s Mask 3D, after I beat this game, because I might end up getting burned out on The Legend of Zelda after this.

Conception 2: Children of the Seven Stars

Because I can’t/don’t want to play Ocarina of Time 3D in short bursts, I have space for a game that can be played. So I guess I still have time to play Conception 2 and work on getting the other endings. I’ve actually spent more time on Conception 2 now than I have with Tales of the Abyss and Etrian Odyssey Untold, two RPGs that I honestly enjoyed more. I guess multiple endings automatically result in increased replayability.

Right now, I’m at two completed endings already and am very close to getting my third one. Depending on how my week plays out, I can end up getting that third ending or progressing farther into Ocarina of Time 3D. I hope it’s the latter.
And that’s all for today. I really hope I can free up some time to finish up the articles that I’ve been working on because I don’t want this blog to end up being just a personal journal.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

