In the Crosshairs – Senran Kagura 2: Deep Crimson

Every now and then, there’s an announcement of the release of a new 3DS game that I’m interested in getting. Because I’m retiring my Buy List series of articles for the time being, I’m replacing it with a new series of articles where I get to share my thoughts on these new 3DS game announcements and why they got my attention. Today, I’m going to talk about Senran Kagura 2: Deep Crimson.

crosshairs - senran kagura 2 deep crimsonSenran Kagura is an anime/manga/video game franchise that revolves around groups of female ninjas. The Senran Kagura videogames comprise mostly of side scrolling beat ’em up games that come with loads of fan service. The first Senran Kagura game to be released to the western 3DS audience was Senran Kagura Burst, but it only saw a physical release in Europe and was limited to a digital distribution for the North America region.

When I was younger, I used to play beat ’em up games all the time – I played the popular ones like Streets of Rage on Sega Genesis (all three games), the Double Dragon games on Famicom, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles IV: Turtles in Time. I even played beat ’em ups that weren’t popular at all, like Tuff Enuff on the Super Nintendo. So when I bought my Nintendo 2DS back in 2013, I was looking out for a decent beat ’em up game to add to my game library.

I wanted Senran Kagura Burst to be the game that took up the beat ’em up slot in my collection, but I had a stance against buying digital copies of games. I thought games like Code of Princess and that Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles game based on the film would take it’s place, but they weren’t good enough beat ’em up games. While my stance against digital copies had softened somewhat, I still think that Senran Kagura Burst is still too big of a game to purchase digitally and so I resisted the urge to purchase the game. Well, just a few days ago, the developers of Senran Kagura 2: Deep Crimson announced that it would be localized and see a limited physical release for Europe, Australia, and North America. And of course, I’m very excited for it.

I already mentioned that I’ve been waiting for a decent beat ’em up game for the 3DS to add to my collection, so that’s the first reason why I’m looking forward to this game. Reviews of  Senran Kagura Burst have been generally positive, especially when compared to Code of Princess, and everything that I’ve read about Senran Kagura 2: Deep Crimson says that the game further improves what Senran Kagura Burst had to offer.

The fanservice, I have to admit, is another reason. I just have this perception that “fanservice-y” 3DS games are seldom released for the North America region, so if there’s any that make it to this side of the world, it’s automatically rare in my eyes. Combine that with the announcement that Senran Kagura 2 will only see a limited physical release and, well, a physical copy could very well end up as a collector’s item in the future.

The Senran Kagura franchise seems to be gaining popularity recently, and Senran Kagura 2: Deep Crimson looks like it’ll be that decent beat ’em up game that I’ve been wanting to add to my collection, so I definitely have my eyes on this. Will I buy it? Given the limited physical release, there’s more urgency to getting this game than there is to buying something like Majora’s Mask 3D or Codename S.T.E.A.M., so not only will I buy Senran Kagura 2: Deep Crimson; I’ll probably chase after it a little more aggressively than usual. This game is definitely going to stay in my crosshairs for the next couple of months.

4 Comments

Filed under In the Crosshairs

4 responses to “In the Crosshairs – Senran Kagura 2: Deep Crimson

  1. I played the JP version of this game as well as Burst, it definitely improves from Burst and I can’t wait to finally understand the story and humor.
    For example, even normal enemies now lose clothes 😉
    It’s also more difficult, I died several times in the 1st few stages because I was trying to play it like Burst, you need to be more carefull in this one.

    • thegaminggeek

      Thanks for the comment! What did you think about the JP version of Senran Kagura 2 though? Good game?

      • Yes, I enjoy it, don’t get the wrong idea though, it’s still a rather repetitive button mashing beat em up and I don’t think anyone who didn’t like Burst witll like this one much either.
        Not understanding anything takes away from it though, I really enjoy the story and characters in Burst and Shinovi Versus, so I can’t wait to finally fully enjoy this game in english. (I got the game only a few weeks ago for only 20€ new because I wasn’t expecting an announcement so soon).

        There are a bunch of new things, several different modes I don’t quite understand completly how they work (for example there is an Arena Challenge Mode and some Tournament Ladder type of mode), and you can buy new weapons now, how they affect things I’m not sure though. If I get it right it even offers options to turn off the clothing destruction scenes and other things. In the dressing room the girl now can do different poses.

        Storywise I’m not sure but I think it starts where Burst ends, therefore I assume it plays between Burst and Shinovi Versus so characters introduced in SV won’t appear in this one.

        Sorry for the grammar, english is not my 1st language.

      • thegaminggeek

        Thank you, your comments are definitely going to help me decide better on whether to chase after those limited physical copies of Senran Kagura 2 or not. 🙂

Leave a Reply

