Gaming Geek’s Log – 2015.03.04

I found a little free time to write this, so I’m going to talk about the same games that I’ve been playing recently – Conception 2: Children of the Seven Stars, Pokemon Shuffle, and IronFall Invasion. Oh and I want to say something brief about Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate too.

Conception 2: Children of the Seven Stars

I spent more time on Etrian Odyssey Untold and yet I wasn’t in such a hurry to end my experience with it, but I’m just really going through the motions with Conception 2. Thankfully, I’m at the last chapter of the game and I’m just doing some grinding to get my characters at high enough levels.

I hate to admit it, but I’m now using the game’s Auto Battle feature. Since getting the 3DS device, I’ve only used auto battles twice – in Bravely Default and in Tales of the Abyss. In the former, I used auto battles to grind for increasing the job levels of my characters and in the latter, I only used autobattles when I was very near the end of the game.

Normally, I don’t use autobattle features because I think it defeats the purpose of playing the game – you play the game to experience the game’s mechanics, and by setting everything to work automatically, I’m depriving myself of that experience. But this kind of feature is very convenient for RPGs that require some grinding and I’m very glad that Conception 2 has it because I really can’t wait to beat the final chapter and be done with this game.

Let me rephrase that because that comes off as something negative about Conception 2 and I really don’t mean to knock it – I can’t wait to beat the final chapter and start my playthrough of Ocarina of Time 3D. There, that sounds better.

Pokemon Shuffle

I’m surprised at how much I’m enjoying Pokemon Shuffle. The way it’s set up is just very convenient for me – I play it a few minutes at a time, using up all my accumulated plays (in the form of hearts). Most of the time, I’m able to catch at least one Pokemon after a play session.

If I’m at an area with a wifi connection, I just check in and get my daily bonus. The limited time Daily Event offers ample time for me to play leisurely without missing out on the current bonuses being offered. Very little pressure to utilize all of my accumulated plays and definitely zero pressure to spend money on the microtransactions found within the game. But at the same time, the idea of being able to “catch ’em all” is enticing enough to keep me playing at least once every day.

I’m happy to say that, at least for me, Pokemon Shuffle struck that perfect balance of being enjoyable enough to keep me playing regularly without making it feel like an obligation. I hope Nintendo releases more free games like this in the future because I really think that these add a lot of value to 3DS devices.

IronFall Invasion

Speaking of free games, our StreetPass group played the hell out of IronFall Invasion last weekend. And we had such a great time with it that several of us actually went ahead and purchased at least the full multiplayer version.

While the character’s movements are a little slower than what we’re used to in other FPS games, the actual gameplay runs smoothly. Part of the slow movement has something to do with IronFall Invasion’s mechanics – rather than having a health bar, each character has a stamina gauge. Taking damage results in fatigue and if the character is totally exhausted they get knocked out. Characters have the ability to sprint, but that also uses up stamina and can result in a quicker elimination if not used sparingly. If characters ran fast enough from the onset, there would be no benefit to sprinting so the slow movement of the characters make sense. And at least for me, it adds to the intensity of the battles.

I’m glad to say that New 3DS users won’t necessarily have a clear advantage over those who own the older models, which makes IronFall Invasion more accessible to everyone. Also, those who only have the free version also won’t be at a disadvantage because the free version allows access to the overpowered grenade launcher. At least, as far as we can tell right now, the grenade launcher is quite potent that those with the free version should be able to effectively compete against those with the full version. Now that there are a few of us with the full version, we’ll know if this observation holds up.

I haven’t tried the single player campaign outside of the first chapter so I can’t really comment on it, but from what I’ve seen of the multiplayer mode, I’d say IronFall Invasion is a must have for any 3DS owner who wants to add action-oriented games to his/her collection.

Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate

A friend of mine had to give up playing Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate for certain reasons and lent her copy to me. Well, I’m not even going to touch it – I’m holding onto it for her for safekeeping purposes only. I want to focus on beating Conception 2 and on clearing up my video game backlog, so I can’t afford to spend time on a game that will eat up a lot of time.

And to think that Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate is on my Buy List… I’ll probably change my mind once I’m done with all the games that I have but right now, I’m not interested in doing any monster hunting.

 

And that’s it for now. I just got an idea for another article – I hope I’ll be able to find time to write articles soon because I’ve got a lot of things that I want to talk about.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

