The Buy List – March 2015

It’s time for another installment of my Buy List where I get to share my thoughts on the 3DS games that I’m thinking of getting. Unlike my previous Buy Lists though, this list is more likely to change in the coming months as I’ve got my eye on games that don’t even have release dates or box art yet. So let’s begin…

the buy list logo

Recently purchased:

 

moshi monsters - box art

Moshi Monsters: Katsuma Unleashed

Does this game really count? The New Nintendo 3DS XL being sold in my country was bundled with a 22o volt charger and a choice between this and Ben 10: Galactic Racing. So, yeah. I already have Mario Kart 7 so another racing game is going to be useless, but there’s always room for generic platformers with StreetPass functionality. I’m actually kind of curious about how many Street Pass tags I’m going to get for this game.

Again, I got this game bundled with my New Nintendo 3DS XL. I didn’t buy it, okay?

new nintendo 3ds xl - box

New Nintendo 3DS XL

The New Nintendo 3DS XL is not a video game, it’s a video game console. But I bought it and it is probably going to be the death of this series of articles so I might as well write about it here. So what can I say, I bought a New Nintendo 3DS XL and it is as awesome as I expected it to be.

Why is the New Nintendo 3DS XL going to be the death of my Buy List? Well, simply because I don’t see myself making new purchases anytime soon. One reason is money – this device cost me a significant amount and I’d like to start saving up again. But the main reason is I’ll be replaying some of my games because I want to experience them in 3D, and that means I won’t have time to play any new games. So it doesn’t make sense to write how I’m not going to buy anything every month.

At least, for this month, I’ll write about the games that I would buy IF I were to make purchases. Here they are:

The Buy List:

3ds - monster hunter 4 ultimate

5. Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate

After much thought, I’m moving this down to the fifth slot. Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate is the kind of game that is awesome to play with a group of friends and I just don’t have enough friends that play this game regularly to justify a purchase. Maybe after a few months, some of my friends will consider getting their own New Nintendo 3DS XLs but until I find a gaming group that I’m comfortable with and who I can hang out with often, there will be other games that I’ll be more likely to buy.

shin megami tensei iv - box

4. Shin Megami Tensei IV

Code of Princess and Conception 2 may have tarnished the Atlus brand in my eyes somewhat, but I can’t deny that Shin Megami Tensei IV is still worth buying. I’m still very interested in getting this, maybe after I’m done replaying my games.

virtue's last reward - box

3. Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward

I actually came really close to buying Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward before I got the New Nintendo 3DS XL, but none of the shops that I’ve visited have copies available. Maybe it’s time to hunt for this on the secondary market? I’m still very high on this game and right now, it’s likely to be one of the few games that I’ll end up buying before the year ends.

3ds code name steam

2. Codename S.T.E.A.M.

The Code Name: S.T.E.A.M. demo came out last month and I actually avoided it to avoid getting overly excited about it’s release. Feedback about the demo was very positive so I’m still very excited about it even if I didn’t try it myself. I might get impulsive about getting this when it comes out – it’ll probably depend on how much money I have when this gets released.

3ds - the legend of zelda majoras mask 3d

1. The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D

If I ever buy a new game in the next couple of months, it’s going to be The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3DI’m not going to buy any other retail release before I get a copy of this game. I don’t even know how to explain why this is number one on my list, I just got to have this. If I could only buy one last game for the 3DS, The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D would be it. Buying this would mean that I’d have all three The Legend of Zelda games released for the 3DS in my collection, and I’d be really happy with that.

That’s it for this month’s Buy List. There might not be a Buy List article next month, what with my current plans, so until then!

Leave a comment

Filed under Nintendo 3DS, The Buy List, Video games

Leave a Reply

