Gaming Geek’s Log – 2015.02.06

I’ve been very busy recently, not able to put in as much time as I’d like for playing video games. But I do have a few things that I’d like to talk about today like the three games that I’ve been playing recently and the new Club Nintendo rewards that were released a few days ago.

Conception 2: Children of the Seven Stars

I’ve decided to move on from Etrian Odyssey Untold for the meantime and while I originally planned on playing Ocarina of Time 3D, I don’t have a New 3DS XL yet. I want to experience Ocarina of Time 3D in 3D so I’m saving that game for later. Instead, I started my first playthrough of Conception 2: Children of the Seven Stars and while I didn’t like a lot of concepts of the game, I’ve started liking it more now that I’ve played it for more than 10 hours. I’ve got a lot to say about this game and I’m planning to save all that for when I get to my writeup, so I’ll leave it at that for now.

Liberation Maiden

Finally, I had time to play one of the three Level-5 Guild games that I purchased last December. Because I’ve been playing a lot of RPGs recently, I opted to play a game that’s more action-oriented than the previous games that I played and Liberation Maiden fit the bill. And I’m quite impressed – for a game that cost me $3, Liberation Maiden is an amazing experience. Graphically it looked stunning and the actual game play is quite engaging. The only negative I can say about Liberation Maiden right now is that it’s very short with only 5 missions to play, but at a price of just $3 I can’t really complain. Thank goodness I got this when it went on sale. I’ve already beaten the game at Normal difficulty but I’m still going to try beating this at the hardest difficulty setting so that I can unlock some of the achievements available.

Pushmo

I don’t know why I started playing this game again. I’ve been stuck at one particular puzzle and haven’t been able to really put in the mental effort to solve it for a long time now but for some reason, I played it again today and was able to solve that and one other puzzle.

Pushmo has a total of 198 puzzles – 11 sets with 18 puzzles each – and I got stuck on the 16th puzzle of the  10th set. I managed to solve that and the 17th puzzle, so now I’m at puzzle number 18 of the 10th set. That leaves me with just 19 puzzles to complete, and then I can say that I’ve beaten Pushmo. But man, the puzzles that come at the latter part of the game are really hard. I guess I’ll just try my hand at each puzzle one at a time and see how far I can make it.

New Club Nintendo Rewards

This week, Nintendo released additional rewards and boy, they weren’t kidding when they said there would be dozens of rewards for Club Nintendo members. Just for the 3DS alone, there are 49 different games that can be redeemed using Club Nintendo coins, including big first party games like Super Mario 3D Land, Starfox 64 3D, and Kid Icarus Uprising. This is simply awesome, and I’m really glad that I bought most of my games brand new, because now I have a total of 875 Coins that I can use to get rewards. If I plan accordingly, I can get a total of four different games essentially for free, and that doesn’t count the free Special Gift that will be awarded to me for achieving Platinum Status.

That’s it for today. I still have other things that I want to mention but I’ll save it for a later post.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

