The Buy List – February 2015

It’s time for another installment of my Buy List where I get to share my thoughts on the 3DS games that I’m thinking of getting. Unlike my previous Buy Lists though, this list is more likely to change in the coming months as I’ve got my eye on games that don’t even have release dates or box art yet. So let’s begin…

the buy list logo

Recently purchased:

conception ii - box

Conception II: Children of the Seven Stars

I originally planned skipping a purchase in January, but the recently announced discontinuation of the Club Nintendo rewards program basically forced my hand. Someone offered a sealed copy of Conception II: Children of the Seven Stars at a price that’s around $12 less than how much stores are offering. It was a cheap way to get 40 Club Nintendo coins, so I went ahead and took the offer. Now, I’m the proud owner of another Atlus-produced RPG for the 3DS. I don’t necessarily regret the purchase as I did want this game, but I feel as though I could have bought something better.

Off the list:

persona q - box

Persona Q: Shadow of the Labyrinth

Persona Q: Shadow of the Labyrinth seems to be a game that’s for fans of the Persona franchise. I didn’t play either Persona 3 or Persona 4, so I could care less for the characters from both games. Because this game uses the Etrian Odyssey system, I’m more inclined to just get Etrian Odyssey IV or the soon-to-be-released Etrian Odyssey Untold 2. Whatever interest I had for this game was probably due to it being an anticipated release, and now that some time has passed since this came out, I’m no longer interested.

ultimate nes remix - box art uk

Ultimate NES Remix

I also lost interest in Ultimate NES Remix, but for totally different reasons. Ultimate NES Remix is a collection of minigames based on classic Nintendo Entertainment System games, and I initially wanted it to both revisit games that I enjoyed as a kid and those that I missed out on completely. After thinking on it, I decided that now is not the time to get such a game – at the moment, I prefer games that are a little “heavier” in terms of gameplay (hence me buying several RPGs recently).

The Buy List:

shin megami tensei iv - box

5. Shin Megami Tensei IV

I’m still interested in getting a copy of this game. Shin Megami Tensei IV is considered by many to be one of the best 3DS games to come out in 2013. It just so happened that there are games coming out this year that I’m more interested in.

virtue's last reward - box

4. Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward

Me buying Conception II instead of Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward is more because of timing and a good deal coming up – I would have gotten Virtue’s Last Reward first if the stores that I kept visiting had copies available. At this rate though, I’m really more interested in three new games that are going to be released in the next two months.

3ds code name steam

3. Codename S.T.E.A.M.

This game has  a lot of things that really caught my attention – the steampunk fantasy setting, the use of steam-powered equipment and steam as an in-game resource, the strategy RPG mechanics and third-person over the shoulder perspective, the silver-age comic book style art, and the use of American literary figures as in-game characters. Codename S.T.E.A.M. looks really good so far, and I’ve always enjoyed most games by Intelligent Systems. I definitely have my eyes on this release.

3ds - monster hunter 4 ultimate

2. Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate

I never thought I’d be listing this here, but here it is. Thanks to a free, content-filled demo version of Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate, I realized how much fun this game could be. I’m still very apprehensive of games that I consider as “never ending” but if several of my friends get their own copy of this, I might as well grab my own so I can join in on their hunting sessions.

3ds - the legend of zelda majoras mask 3d

1. The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D

I never had the chance to play Majora’s Mask when it first came out, and when an emulated version was released for the Gamecube I opted not to play it due to some technical glitches that were present. Thankfully, Nintendo decided to release a remastered version for the 3DS just like what they did with Ocarina of Time, and I’m definitely not going to miss out this time around.

Both Ocarina of Time and Majora’s Mask received critical acclaim when they originally came out and despite several years since, the remastered version Ocarina of Time 3D still garnered positive feedback all throughout, ranked among the top three 3DS games on both Metacritic and GameRankings. It’s also been said that Majora’s Mask 3D will have special features when played on a New 3DS, so it’s one game that will definitely make me feel good about eventually getting a New 3DS XL.

That’s it for this month’s Buy List. I hope these games are released on time because I really can’t wait to get my hands on them.

Leave a comment

Filed under Nintendo 3DS, The Buy List, Video games

Leave a Reply

