The Buy List – January 2015

It’s time for another installment of my Buy List where I get to share my thoughts on the 3DS games that I’m thinking of getting. Unlike my previous Buy Lists though, this list is more likely to change in the coming months as I’ve got my eye on that don’t even have release dates or box art yet. So let’s begin…

the buy list logo

Recently purchased:

tloz ocarina of time - box

The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D

It’s funny how I ended up getting a copy of this game. You see, I wanted to take advantage of the Black Friday sales so I asked a friend of mine who was in the U.S. at the time to buy me a copy of The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D. I thought that a game that came out in 2011 would be easy to find, and this game is one of many that were advertised to be sold at discounted rates by retailers like Best Buy and Target.

Well, my friend had trouble finding a copy of the game so he ended up ordering the game online at full price. I don’t mind that at all, I just think it’s funny given that I always seen copies of this game in most video game stores here where I’m located.  Right now, I’m glad to have the 3DS game with the highest Metacritic score in my collection, even if I don’t plan on playing this game until after I’ve gotten my hands on a New Nintendo 3DS.

3ds - etrian odyssey untold

Etrian Odyssey Untold: The Millenium Girl

When I bought this, I was looking for Virtue’s Last Reward but the local video game shop didn’t have any copies available. So I was left with the choices Etrian Odyssey Untold: The Millenium Girl and Persona Q: Shadow of the Labyrinth.

I ended up choosing Etrian Odyssey Untold: The Millenium Girl for several reasons: (1) it’s cheaper, (2) Persona Q is essentially characters from Persona 3 and Persona 4 in an Etrian Odyssey style game, (3) I only played the first Revelations: Persona game and don’t have any emotional attachment to the characters making a return in Persona Q, and (4) word on the street is that the remake of Etrian Odyssey 2 will also be localized for Western audiences. The Etrian Odyssey series has been getting a lot of buzz lately, so I decided to see what this series has to offer. Etrian Odyssey Untold: The Millenium Girl is a remake of the first Etrian Odyssey game that was released on the Nintendo DS, so I saw it as a good jumping on point and pulled the trigger on the purchase.

The Buy List:

persona q - box

5. Persona Q: Shadow of the Labyrinth

Like I wrote on my previous Buy List post, I was choosing between this game and Etrian Odyssey Untold: The Millenium Girl. I ended up buying the latter. Persona Q: Shadow of the Labyrinth is too similar to Etrian Odyssey Untold for me to buy a copy right now.

ultimate nes remix - box art uk

4. Ultimate NES Remix

My feelings about Ultimate NES Remix remain the same – I’m a little interested, but I’m really not in the mood for something like this right now. I don’t know if it’s the RPG bug – I’ve been playing several RPGs recently – but I’m really looking for games that offer more depth at the moment.

shin megami tensei iv - box

3. Shin Megami Tensei IV

Despite getting great review scores, I’m still hesitant about buying Shin Megami Tensei IV. I don’t really know why – I just keep seeing other games that I’m more interested in.

conception ii - box

2. Conception II: Children of the Seven Stars

I took this off my Buy List last month but after seeing a couple of preview videos of this game on the Nintendo eShop, I became interested in this again. Yes, it’s the fanservice – it’s so rare for a game to come out on the Nintendo 3DS that has as much fanservice as this game.

virtue's last reward - box

1. Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward

I’ve had Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward at number one for so long now but have never been able to buy it. I should consider being more aggressive in terms of tracking down a copy of this before Code Name S.T.E.A.M. comes out.

And that does it for the first Buy List for 2015. Some of these games might get taken off due to the big 3DS releases this year. Let’s see what January has in store for me.

2 Comments

Filed under Nintendo 3DS, The Buy List, Video games

2 responses to “The Buy List – January 2015

  1. Ultimate NES Remix is enjoyable, but I kind of regret spending $30 on it. It’s fun in short bursts but feels more like a mobile game that should be a couple bucks rather than $30.

    -avideogamelife.com

    • thegaminggeek

      Thanks for the comment! Yeah, I can see what you mean by that. There’s a lot of minigames in Remix, but the sum doesn’t feel like it’s worth $30. I think that’s why I’m really hesitant to get a copy now.

Leave a Reply

