Top 20 Most Frequently Played 3DS Games – #16-#20

I’ve always wanted to do a Best of list but I’ve never been qualified for it – I don’t watch enough movies, play enough games, read enough books, etc., to come up with a list that’s valid enough. However, I’ve had my 2DS for more than a year now and I got this idea of talking about the games/apps that I’ve played/used the most during my first year of owning my 2DS, so here I am.

top 20 logo

For this list, I’ll be talking about the top twenty games based on the amount of time I spent on them. Note that the amount of time a game is played isn’t an indicator of the quality of the game or how good it is, but it is one of the factors that point to how much content it has or how much I enjoyed the game. With that said, let’s begin:

Number 20 – Super Smash Bros. Special Demo Version (21 hours, 1 minute)

3ds a - super smash bros demo

I’m surprised that a Demo made it to this list but here it is. The amount of time that I spent playing the Super Smash Bros. Special Demo Version shows how well made it was, with enough content and features to make it almost stand on its own with two stages (standard and Omega version), five fully playable fighters, and multiplayer capabilities. I ended up spending more time on this than on some of my games. I already have the full version of Super Smash Bros. though, so it’s unlikely that I’ll be playing the Demo version further.

Number 19 – Star Fox 64 3D (24 hours, 24 minutes)

3ds a - star fox 64 3d

Star Fox 64 3D is one of the games that felt really short. It relies too much on the “high scores” concept of replayability – that setting a standard to meet would motivate players to keep replaying a certain stage/level. In this game, you can get a bronze, silver, or gold medal depending on the points that you earned per stage. Getting gold medals on all of the stages would get you a different title screen, and that’s it. I don’t know if I should be grateful or complain about it, but that’s all that you get – no secret cutscene or additional features.

I beat this game several times and completed all of the hidden stages in less than twenty hours – the additional time was spent on trying to aim for at least silver medals on all of the stages but there really wasn’t any point to it. I also spent some time playing multiplayer sessions with this game but the amount of content for multiplayer wasn’t enough to really sustain interest – there were only a few worlds and just one multiplayer game mode available.

Despite only spending 24 hours on this, I’m not entirely disappointed – I’m definitely going to play this game on all the stages again once I get my hands on a New Nintendo 3DS so I can experience the entire game in 3D.

Number 18 – Dead or Alive: Dimensions (24 hours, 48 minutes)

3ds a - dead or alive dimensions

I don’t consider myself as a fan of fighting games even though four of the games in my collection can be classified as fighting games, and all four of them are in the top twenty. Maybe I am a fan after all? Anyway, I’m surprised to see Dead or Alive: Dimensions this high up on the list.

This game has two features that really make me spend time on it – Survival mode where you have to beat a lot of AI-controlled opponents (I’m still trying my hands on the last challenge where you need to defeat 100 opponents in one go) and the Street Pass feature that allows me to fight AI-controlled fighters based on the ranking of other people who also have this game.

The Street Pass feature is extra compelling – each Street Pass win results to a new in-game figure as a reward and contributes to a higher rank which gets passed along to others, so any time I get a Street Pass tag for this I make sure that I play any tags that I get.

Number 17 – Download Play (27 hours, 31 minutes)

3ds a - download play

Download Play is the built-in App on 3DS devices that facilitates the Download Play features of different games, so that 27 hours that I spent on this comprises of all those Bomberman Land Touch 2, Golden Eye, and Mario Party sessions that I had with my Street Pass group. It also includes some time spent on Mario Kart 7 and Luigi’s Mansion: Dark Moon before I was able to get my own copies. If I wasn’t so keen on getting my own copies of games that I enjoyed playing, I would probably have spent more time with this app.

Download Play is just amazing, being able to play a multiplayer session without needing your own copy. I hope that we see more games with Download Play features in the future as it really contributes to the social aspect of video gaming.

Number 16 – Kirby: Triple Deluxe (28 hours, 52 minutes)

3ds a - kirby triple deluxe

I bought Kirby: Triple Deluxe for two reasons – to serve as an alternative to Super Smash Bros. prior to it’s release (Kirby Fighters!) and to finally experience the platforming goodness that Kirby games were known for. While Kirby Fighters is a solid game in itself, it pales in comparison to Super Smash Bros. so there’s very little need to play this further unless I’m with a group who doesn’t have copies of Super Smash Bros. or if I want to beat the game using all of the types of fighters. I’ve also beaten not only the main game but also the alternate version where you get to play as King Dedede instead of Kirby.

I guess I can say that I’m satisfied with the amount of content that this game offered, despite me spending just under 30 hours on this. There’s actually still more to do with this game like beating Kirby Fighters on all difficulties with all Kirbys, or beating my fastest times in the other minigames, but at the moment I’m more interested in other games. I still play Kirby: Triple Deluxe occasionally whenever I get Street Pass tags so I can add more keychains to my in-game collection.

This is one of the games that I’m thinking of replaying once I get my hands on a New Nintendo 3DS just so I could experience it in 3D, but it’s not very high on that list, so I see this dropping a few spots if I decide to run this kind of list again next year.

And that’s it for Part 1 of this list. Stay tuned for Part 2, where I reveal #11-#15 of my twenty most frequently played 3DS games. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Nintendo 3DS, Video games

Leave a Reply

