Gaming Geek’s Log – 2014.12.29

Here’s another journal entry, probably the last one for this year. This time around I’m going to talk about revisiting some older DS games, quick updates on Fire Emblem Awakening and Etrian Odyssey Untold, and which Level-5 eShop games I’m thinking of buying while they’re on sale.

Fire Emblem Awakening

I said I’d take a break from Fire Emblem Awakening, but couldn’t really help doing missions every now and then. Being able to read all those Support Conversations is a compelling reason for me to keep grinding through missions. Right now I already have one or two second generation characters with completed Support Conversations and I’m still highly engaged in getting the rest of them so I’m probably going to get a few more before the end of the year.

Etrian Odyssey Untold: The Millenium Girl

I’m loving this game a lot. I thought the map-making part of Etrian Odyssey Untold: The Millenium Girl would be tedious, but it’s not. In fact, the map-making is one aspect of the game that really makes it enjoyable to play. I love arriving at a new floor and slowly making my way through the many winding paths, charting my every step. And map-making aside, I’m really enjoying the game itself. I like the skill tree system of Etrian Odyssey a lot – it’s well-defined and I’m able to easily chart out a level-up plan for each character. I’m really glad I bought this game.

back to retrogaming

Whenever my girlfriend is using my 2DS to play Tokyo Crash Mobs, I’m left with only my older DS unit to play with. So now I’m forced to go back to the older DS games and funny enough, I’m playing Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon right now. It’s amazing how different it is compared to the more recent Fire Emblem Awakening, but I guess I have to remind myself that Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon is only a remake of a NES game that came out ages ago. I’m also playing Prince of Tennis: Crystal Drive and Advance Wars: Days of Ruin on the side.

Level-5 Sale

So several Level-5 games are currently on sale on the Nintendo eShop right now and after mulling about the choices, I’m leaning towards purchasing Liberation Maiden, Crimson Shroud, and Weapon Shop De Omasse. I’m considering Liberation Maiden because of what it is and who is behind it – a 3D shooter with great looking visuals from Suda51, a game designer known for games with a distinctly unique style (No More Heroes and Lollipop Chainsaw being the more popular ones from him). Crimson Shroud got my attention because of how it serves as a throwback to old school dice RPGs that I played back in the day. Finally, I’m finding the concept of Weapon Shop De Omasse very intriguing – rather than portraying heroes with an all important quest, I get to be behind the creation of powerful weapons that the said heroes would need in order to succeed. I can’t wait to go and download these.

And that’s it for now – my last journal entry for this year. 2014 has been such a great year for me in terms of videogames, and I’m excited to see what 2015 has in store for me. What’s coming? The New Nintendo 3DS for the North America region, Codename S.T.E.A.M., Majora’s Mask 3D, Monster Hunter 4, and definitely even more awesome videogames.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

