Gaming Geek’s Log – 2014.12.22

I had lots of time for gaming this past weekend, so I have a longer journal entry today. As usual, I’ll be talking about my progress in Fire Emblem Awakening and quick updates about my other games, but I’m also going to talk about the three games that I bought a few weeks ago during my holiday eShop shopping spree: Gunman Clive, Chain Blaster, and The Keep.

endings

I couldn’t resist it anymore – I beat Fire Emblem Awakening this past weekend despite not completing the remaining Paralogues (additional chapters) and the Support Conversations. Thankfully, it wasn’t a waste because there are two possible endings (that I know of). Now that I’ve seen one of the endings, I can continue working on getting the remaining playable characters and Support conversations and see the other ending.

I also realized that this game has so much replayability as you’ll need to do multiple playthroughs in order to get every single Support conversation possible. The additional DLCs that you can get further extend the lifespan of this game, and I still have 4 DLC missions that I haven’t played yet. I think I’m going to take a break from this game though and just play quick missions from time to time.

the lone gunman

I’ve been playing Gunman Clive every now and then in short bursts and got surprised at how much progress I made in just a few hours. I’ve actually beaten the game in Normal mode as Clive so it’s really quick – I think one can beat this game in under two hours. I’m not complaining though as I bought this game for just $1.99 at the eShop and I have yet to beat this on the Hard difficulty setting. There are two other characters aside from Clive that you can play as which adds to the game’s replayability.

Gunman Clive is a nice little game that reminds me of classic 8-bit shooters (especially Mega Man games) that I can load up if I need a break from all these RPGs that I’ve been playing recently. Definitely worth every penny. I wish Gunman Clive 2 is a little longer than this though – I’d be willing to spend more on a longer Gunman Clive game.

shoot ’em up

I’ve also been playing Chain Blaster and I have to say, I don’t think I have the attention span for this type of game right now. This is really similar to 8-bit shoot ’em up games where you keep playing for as long as you can and try for the highest possible score that you can get, so my play sessions can get a little longer than what the amount of time I’m prepared to give this game. Having to grind through the first couple of levels repeatedly can get kind of annoying for me. I still enjoy this game for what it is, it’s just not the type of game that I can play any time.

old school roleplaying

And finally, I get to talk about The Keep. I’ve been wanting to try this game since I bought it but was too busy with Fantasy Life and Fire Emblem Awakening. I decided to give both of those games a rest though, and I didn’t want to start right away with Etrian Odyssey Untold so I finally gave The Keep a go and man, this reminded me so much of those old RPGs that I played on the PC right around the time of Windows 3.1/Windows 95. The first person viewpoint combined with the limited grid movement brought a little shareware game called Ancients I: Death Watch to mind.

I find the game really engaging, at least for my first playthrough. Because of the first person view and the dark environments, I get the feeling that there’s always some unseen danger lurking around corners, waiting to ambush me. And because of the tank controls and grid movement, it’s easy for me to get cornered by enemies. While other people may find these mechanics to be outdated, I appreciate the challenge that the limitations provide.

The Keep is not a perfect game though, not even an excellent one. The few roleplaying elements that are present don’t have much of an impact in the game – items and equipment are very limited, and while I’m able to customize my character’s stats, I don’t feel how they affect the game. What’s important is that I’m enjoying the game despite it’s flaws. I don’t know if I’ll continue to enjoy the game on repeat playthroughs though.

other games

I revisited some of my older games – I tried to get 2 Stars in Mario Kart 7 and failed again; I cleared some of the StreetPass missions in Resident Evil: Revelations and did some of the StreetPass fights in Dead or Alive: Dimensions; I completed Path of Champions for Cody Rhodes in WWE All Stars. I’m not sure why, but I also played a couple of rounds of Code of Princess. Nothing notable, but doing a round with some of my older games reminded me of how I built my 3DS game library, keeping in mind to get games from several genres/types to suit my moods and I’m glad that I managed just that.

And that’s it for my journal entry. I’ve got several posts planned out to close this year, including my Buy List for next month.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

