Gaming Geek’s Log – 2014.12.07

I managed find a good amount of time for gaming again, so here I am with another update on what I’ve been playing recently – Fire Emblem Awakening, Fantasy Life, Super Smash Bros. and Chain Blaster.

Digital purchases

Because of the discounts resulting from Black Friday/Cyber Monday, I ended up purchasing several games on the Nintendo eShop:

  • Chain Blaster for $2.99 (originally $6.99)
  • The Keep for $7.99 (originally $12.99)
  • Gunman Clive for $1.99
  • The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening DX
  • Fire Emblem Awakening DLC: Future Past Pack for $6.50

Each of these games fit a certain purpose as part of my preparation for moving to a different place. The Keep is a first person RPG that, according to HowLongToBeat.com, lasts around 7.5 hours. I’m planning on using this as a relatively quick palate cleanser for when I need a break from the three games in my current “playlist”. Gunman Clive is a very popular indie game for the 3DS, a platformer that I’m also planning to use as a palate cleanser. Chain Blaster is a vertical scrolling shoot ’em up that is similar to Galaga in aesthetics and to Twin Bee in mechanics.

I bought The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening DX to round out my collection of Gameboy Color Legend of Zelda games – I’m going to play all three in succession next year after I’m done with the games that I’m currently playing. Finally, I bought the Future Past Pack DLC to extend Fire Emblem Awakening‘s “lifespan” – this pack consists of three additional chapters that are closely linked to the game’s main storyline.

Virus cleaning

I was actually alternating between playing Chain Blaster and writing this post up until this point. Chain Blaster plays how 8-bit shooters played back in the day – you can’t save your progress, there’s no real end to the game, you play because you’re aiming for high scores.

chain blaster - gameplay 1

Lots of things will fly towards you in this game – most of them will blow you to bits.

While sticking to old mechanics, Chain Blaster utilizes a new feature (new to me, at least) which I’m going to refer to as “chaining”. Your spaceship in the game has a special weapon called a Chain Blast that turns any opponent that you hit with the blast into an energy ring. Other opponents that hit this energy ring get turned into energy rings themselves, so what you end up with is a big chain reaction that kills opponents in succession.

This feature sets Chain Blaster apart from all other shoot ’em up games that I played in the past and provides me with two ships that play quite differently from each other: The Sagittarius is a more traditional ship that can shoot normal projectiles or the Chain Blast, while the Orion has no normal projectiles and can only rely on it’s Chain Blast. For $2.99, it’s a steal.

My playlist

I’m still cycling through Fire Emblem Awakening, Super Smash Bros., and Fantasy Life. In Fire Emblem Awakening, I’m still trying to get all of the Support Conversations for the first gen characters and am now using items called Seed of Trust to speed up the process. I think there are only a few conversations left; once I get them, I’ll start playing to finish the main storyline again. In Super Smash Bros., I’m working on achieving the remaining Challenges that I have yet to meet. Right now, I’m focused on two: beating All Star Mode with all characters, and getting first place in Smash Run with all characters.

And Fantasy Life, well… what was I supposed to do in that game again? Fantasy Life can be viewed as one big list of different tasks, so big that I’m having trouble setting a goal and sticking with it. My main goal in the game right now is to be a strong Hunter with powerful gear – armor, weapons, and maybe even a few accessories. I haven’t consulted any guides for this game, so I could be wrong but right now it looks like the best way to get powerful gear is to have them created. When you create these gear, the end result can be of different qualities, each stronger than the last: Good Quality, Great Quality, Top Quality. Good Quality items are significantly stronger than equivalents that can be bought in the game, and you can even add abilities to the item as you craft them. So you can just imagine how much more powerful Top Quality items are.

Well, crafting these items involves using different classes. Armors/clothing are created by Blacksmiths/Tailors, bows by Carpenters, and accessories by Alchemists. These job classes also need good tools that, like the other types of gear that I mentioned earlier, become more effective the higher it’s quality is. A Blacksmith can create Hammers for themselves and Needles for Tailors. Carpenters use and can make Saws.

In order to craft though, you need materials. Blacksmiths need ores, and ores can be bought but are usually mined by Miners. Carpenters require wood, which can be bought or gathered by Woodcutters. Tailors need thread to create fabrics; thankfully there’s no gatherer class for thread so you can easily buy them in shops.

So, in order to have powerful Hunter gear, I need to be a powerful enough Blacksmith/Carpenter/Tailor so I can create my own Hunter gear. But I need to also be powerful enough Miner/Woodcutter so I can gather the rare metals/types of wood that I’ll need in order to create powerful Hunter gear.

So, yeah. Fantasy Life. Almost like real life. So maybe I’ll stop writing now and start hunting for those Dragon Scales again (Blacksmith requirement). Or maybe I should start chopping down Divine Trees in order to get Divine Logs that I can turn into Divine Beams that I can finally use to create items.

Like I said… What was I supposed to do in this game again?

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal, Video games

Leave a Reply

