The Buy List – December 2014

I haven’t been writing here as much as I’d like because I’ve been contributing to another site, but I want to maintain the only regular post that this site has. So without further ado:

the buy list logo

Recently purchased:

Nothing. For two reasons.

The two games that I purchased last month had so much gameplay that I’m not done with either yet. I’ve already accumulated more than 130 hours of play time for Super Smash Bros. and over 80 hours for Fantasy Life. Both games have so much more to offer, so I don’t think I’ll be done with either any time soon.

I’ve also managed to build a 3DS game library that also offers a lot of replayability. I’m not completely done with Kirby: Triple Deluxe (still have to complete Dedede’s World Tour) and Fire Emblem Awakening (still grinding for all of the support conversations) yet. Aside from completing these games, Kirby: Triple Deluxe offers a boss rush mode that is worth playing over and over. I’m also planning to get another DLC pack for Fire Emblem Awakening, one that consists of additional stages that provide an epilogue to the main storyline.

When I finally get my hands on the New Nintendo 3DS, I’m planning on replaying Resident Evil: Revelations (Campaign on Hell Difficulty), Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater 3D (using the right C-stick this time around), Batman: Arkham Origins Blackgate (just to see the two other secret endings), and Hero Mode of The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds.

I also haven’t seen the endings for all of the fighters in Super Street Fighter IV 3D, and haven’t unlocked all of the alternate ring gear for the wrestlers of WWE All Stars. I also haven’t achieved two star status in Mario Kart 7 and have yet to play all the bonus missions of Luigi’s Mansion: Dark Moon.

With all these games to go back to, I don’t see the need to keep purchasing a game every month, not unless a big new title is released (Project S.T.E.A.M.The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D). Still, having a new game to play is always refreshing, so I still have my eye on a couple and will continue writing about them every month.

Off the List:

conception ii - box

Conception II: Children of the Seven Stars

I kept this game on the list for a long time, but it’s finally off the list because there are more interesting games out. Maybe it’ll come back? It’s unlikely, but we’ll see.

The Buy List:

ultimate nes remix - box art uk

5. Ultimate NES Remix

I’ve seen the reviews and I know what Ultimate NES Remix is about now, which is why I moved it to last priority. It looks neat, but I’m not sure if this type of game will keep me engaged long enough, at least when compared to the other games on this list. It might be something that my girlfriend would enjoy, so I’m still keeping my eye on this.

 

shin megami tensei iv - box

4. Shin Megami Tensei IV

I’m still high on Shin Megami Tensei IV but it got moved to fourth priority due to number three being new. I don’t know, it feels better to play a game that you know other people are playing at the same time than to play a game that everyone has already played. I’m also wary of RPG burnout as I’m currently playing Fantasy Life and Fire Emblem Awakening at the moment, so I’m less interested in this game than I was a few months ago.

 

persona q - box

3. Persona Q: Shadow of the Labyrinth

This is already out and review scores are high. I missed out on the Persona series as none of them have been released on Nintendo platforms. Somewhere down the line, I may end up choosing between this and Etrian Odyssey Untold: The Millenium Girl. It’s been reported that the sequel to The Millenium Girl is already being developed for a Japan release – if the sequel gets localized, I may end up going for the Etrian Odyssey series instead.

 

virtue's last reward - box

2. Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward

What? Number two? Didn’t  I say that if I end up buying a new game, it’s likely going to be Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward? What happened?

Well, Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward is still a high priority for me, but Nintendo announced that they’re developing The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask 3D for the Nintendo 3DS. So number one is probably…

 

tloz ocarina of time - box

1. The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D

I’ve never played Majora’s Mask before, despite being really famous. I didn’t get the chance to have a Nintendo 64, and the Gamecube release was glitchy so I avoided it. I played the Gamecube version of Ocarina of Time though, so I never really considered getting a copy of the 3DS remake until now. The two games are so closely linked together that you need both Majora’s Mask 3D and Ocarina of Time 3D. 

And unlike the Ocarina of Time Gamecube release which was just an emulated version of the Nintendo 64 game with a few changes to the controls, The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D is a remastered version with a lot of changes. It currently has a Metacritic score of 94 based on 85 reviews – it’s that good.

 

And that does it for this month’s version of The Buy List. I may end up with two purchases this month if these games go on sale for Christmas – after all, my number one was released in 2011 and number two in 2012, so they’re not exactly new games. We’ll see next year if I end up adding more to my collection.

Leave a comment

Filed under Nintendo 3DS, The Buy List, Video games

Leave a Reply

