The Buy List – November 2014

I recently purchased two games that will really take a long time to play, so I don’t see myself buying anything new this month. Still, I haven’t been posting anything here lately due to my new gig, so I’m continuing my monthly tradition of writing about the games that I’m thinking about buying this month.

the buy list logo

Recently purchased:

super smash bros 3ds - box

Super Smash Bros.

Not being able to gain Club Nintendo points (local retailers weren’t able to get their hands on US versions of the game) didn’t stop me from buying a copy of Super Smash Bros. as soon as it was available. I’ve had this game for almost a month and have already been playing this game for more than 100 hours now. Super Smash Bros. is also the game that is played the most during our weekend Street Pass meet ups since this game out. I don’t think I’ll get tired of this anytime soon, so getting it as soon as I could was worth all those points that I could have gained but didn’t.

fantasy life - box jap

Fantasy Life

I almost passed on this game after its local release was delayed for almost a week, but the attention this game was getting was too much for me to ignore. When Super Smash Bros. came out, I kept seeing 2-3 friends online playing it. When Fantasy Life became available digitally, I was still seeing the same 2-3 friends online, but they were playing Fantasy Life instead. And then I kept seeing people posting about how they were able to buy the last remaining copy of Fantasy Life from their local retailer. So I decided to just grab a copy today – I didn’t want to risk missing out now and needing to wait for another month.

The Buy List:

conception ii - box

5. Conception II: Children of the Seven Stars

I almost moved this out of the list and replaced it with Etrian Odyssey Untold, but the fanservice and plot… I wrote that exact statement last month but my sentiments haven’t changed, so I’ll just keep that as it is.

 

persona q - box

 

4. Persona Q: Shadow of the Labyrinth

This game is scheduled for release on November 25, and I’m interested in it mainly because it’s a Persona game. Persona Q: Shadow of the Labyrinth is not higher than the next game on this list because I don’t know that much about it yet, so I’ll need to do some research first to see if this is really something that I want to buy right away.

shin megami tensei iv - box

3. Shin Megami Tensei IV

I can’t ignore all the positive feedback that Shin Megami Tensei IV received when it came out, and the RPG veteran inside me is looking forward to playing this renowned RPG. This is higher than the previous game on my list because I already have a good idea of what this game is and whether I’ll enjoy it or not. This is lower on the list than the next game because I’m still experiencing a little RPG fatigue which I’m assuming will get worse as I’m going to play Fire Emblem Awakening and Fantasy Life in succession.

ultimate nes remix - box art uk

2. Ultimate NES Remix

This won’t be coming out until December, but I’m willing to wait until Ultimate NES Remix is released before I buy any new game. If you hadn’t noticed, the previous 3 games in this list are all RPGs from Atlus. The concept of having minigame versions of old NES classics is what you’ll find in Ultimate NES Remix, which is a great game to play in between other games. Similar to Super Smash Bros.Ultimate NES Remix provides a lot of nostalgia for longtime Nintendo fans in a format that’s closer to the original games they were based on.

virtue's last reward - box

1. Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward

This game has been in my list for months. Whenever I drop by local retailers, I always check if they have remaining copies of Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward, and unfortunately whenever I’m there, they are always out of stock. I still can’t wait to play this game as it involves a lot of story telling and puzzles to keep me occupied.

And again, I don’t think I’ll buy anything this month, but if I did end up buying a new game, it’s likely going to be Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward.

Leave a comment

Filed under Nintendo 3DS, The Buy List, Video games

Leave a Reply

