The Buy List – October 2014

Here’s my updated buy list for the month…

the buy list logo

Recently purchased:

Pushmo - title screen

Pushmo

I did say that I would probably hold off of further purchases until October, when Super Smash Bros. comes out right? Well, this doesn’t count because Pushmo is a birthday gift from my grandmother, and it’s an eShop only title that only cost me $6.99. I spent weeks thinking about what eShop title to download, and I finally settled on this popular favorite, a puzzle game with platforming elements that I could pick up and play at any time.

oracle of ages and seasons eshop

The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages / Oracle of Seasons

In celebration of the release of Super Smash Bros., Nintendo put up all sorts of discounts for different games featuring characters that would be appearing in the game. I’ve been eyeing these two for quite some time now, so when Nintendo started selling them at a discounted price, I knew I had to go for them.

Both these games were originally released for the Gameboy Color more than a decade ago. The games had a unique link feature wherein you would be given a password after beating one of the games. You could then enter the password when you start the other game and there would be slight differences in how the game would play out. Doing this would also unlock a third quest and the true ending of the games. I’ve never owned legit copies of these games, and now I’m happy that I do.

The Buy List:

conception ii - box

5. Conception II: Children of the Seven Stars

I almost moved this out of the list and replaced it with Etrian Odyssey Untold, but the fanservice and plot…

shin megami tensei iv - box

4. Shin Megami Tensei IV

I’m still interested in this game, but things might change. Games like Etrian Odyssey Untold have started getting my attention, and Persona Q is just around the corner, so I’m not sure if I’ll end up buying this.

virtue's last reward - box

3. Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward

Definitely still a must have for me. If I wasn’t playing other games right now, I would’ve gone for this. But, it’s simply not the right time, as I don’t think I can play and beat this game before Super Smash Bros. comes out.

When Super Smash Bros. comes out, I’ll be playing the heck out of it and won’t have time for anything else other than quick palate cleansers.

fantasy life - box jap

2. Fantasy Life

This is still very high on my list, but I won’t be surprised if this changes by next month. I’m mainly getting this because several of my friends expressed their interest, but one of them backed out and said he won’t be able to get this right away. It’s been getting positive reviews so far, and there’s at least one friend who will buy this right away so there’s at least one person whom I can play this game with.

super smash bros 3ds - box

1. Super Smash Bros.

This is a definite Day One purchase for me. Release date is supposed to be October 3, but there’s no confirmation if this game will really make it to our shores on time. I’m definitely going to be at the malls just before it opens to make sure that I secure my copy. I’m even planning on going to a mall that doesn’t have as much footfall as the usual malls that I frequent because I MUST GET A COPY OF THIS GAME ASAP.

And that’s my Buy List for October. Super Smash Bros. time or bust.

Leave a comment

Filed under Nintendo 3DS, The Buy List, Video games

Leave a Reply

