The Buy List – September 2014

Here’s my updated buy list for the month…

the buy list logo

Recently purchased:

metal gear solid 2 - box

Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater 3D

I really wanted to buy Virtue’s Last Reward first, but my local video game shop didn’t have any copies left, and someone was selling a used copy of Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater 3D for a really good price. I was glad to find out that this is actually a prequel to Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes and is the very first game in the series in terms of the storyline, so I have very few regrets about getting this game.

teenage mutant ninja turtles - box

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

I don’t think I ever put this on my buy list, but I should have. It started with an Intent to Buy  survey over at Club Nintendo (offers 10 coins when you register the game within a year of its release), which got me to watch out for reviews by the time this was released. It got two positive User reviews over at Metacritic but has largely gone under the radar. And then I saw that if you get this game within four weeks of its release, you can earn 50 coins (that’s 60 coins total if you add the Intent to Buy survey reward). Once the Post Play survey arrives, there’s another 10 coins to earn for a grand total of 70 coins, which is huge for a 3DS game.

I didn’t want the movie, but I was a fan of the Turtles back in the 90’s and loved several of their video games (TMNT II: The Arcade Game on the NES, the first two TMNT games on the Gameboy, and TMNT IV: Turtles in Time on the Super Nintendo to name a few) so I didn’t mind adding this to my collection.

wwe all stars - box

WWE All Stars

The second game that I bought this month that wasn’t on my buy list. It wasn’t even something that I was looking for, but I found it – someone who was selling his copy for just over $10. I was a wrestling fan, and this game is great because the roster of wrestlers are from the eras when I was watching WWE/WWF avidly. Wrestling games are quite different from fighting games, so I don’t mind having one in my collection.

 

Off the List:

kid icarus uprising - cover

Kid Icarus: Uprising

I wanted to buy you, but I got scared. Too much has been said about the control scheme of Kid Icarus: Uprising. There are other, safer games that I could buy, there’s no sense in taking a risk on this game right now.

 

The Buy List:

conception ii - box

5. Conception II: Children of the Seven Stars

I’m still interested in getting a copy of this game, so this is still on the list. It’s been on my buy list for such a long time now, I don’t have much to say about this game any more.

shin megami tensei iv - box

4. Shin Megami Tensei IV

If only I didn’t get burned out from RPGs, I would’ve gotten a copy of Shin Megami Tensei IV already. What’s funny is that I got burned out because of Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor – grinding to level up during the last couple of hours for that game was grueling. But I can’t ignore all the positive things that have been said about this game.

virtue's last reward - box

3. Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward

I really wanted to get a copy of this game, and I would have if the local gaming store had a copy available, but they didn’t. If I buy anything in September, it’s going to be this game, otherwise I’ll just save my money for October for the next two games.

fantasy life - box jap

2. Fantasy Life

I know very little about Fantasy Life, to be honest. What I do know is that folks in my Street Pass group have been eyeing this game since this year’s E3. It’s a multiplayer action RPG that’s a lot like Monster Hunter but with less emphasis on monster hunting and more variety on the kinds of roles that you get to play. What I do know is this – multiplayer action RPGs are fun if you have a lot of people to play it with, and if the people at my Street Pass group get a copy of this, I don’t see why I shouldn’t join in on the fun.

This is coming out on October 24, but I’ll put this here now to show where it falls on the hierarchy of games that I want to buy – and yes, it’s second on the list. That high for a game I don’t know much about. That should tell you something about the hype surrounding this game.

 

super smash bros 3ds - box

1. Super Smash Bros.

This is supposed to come out October. I’ve been waiting for this ever since I bought my 2DS. Mario VS Pac-man VS Sonic VS Mega Man. Link VS Little Mac VS Samus VS Pit. A chance to beat Pikachu into a pulp. What more should I say?

And that’s my Buy List for September. I think it’s likely that I won’t buy anything this month, but if Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward is available, I’ll go for it. I don’t see any other games that I’ll be willing to buy though, because I’m saving up for October’s big releases.

Leave a comment

Filed under Nintendo 3DS, The Buy List, Video games

Leave a Reply

