The Buy List – August 2014

Here’s my updated buy list for the month…

the buy list logo

Recently purchased:

tomodachi life - box

Tomodachi Life

And yet again, I end up purchasing something other than what’s at number one on this list. What really convinced me to purchase Tomodachi Life is a song-making mini game that could potentially be abused in a crude and juvenile manner (look for PeanutButterGamer’s review of the game on YouTube for an example).

I said that this seems to be the type of game that my girlfriend and I would enjoy, and I was right – we like loading this up and seeing all our created Miis interact with each other. It’s relaxing to have a game that you can just play without having any real goals other than to enjoy what’s going on at the moment.

The Buy List:

conception ii - box

5. Conception II: Children of the Seven Stars

I’ve started to sour on Conception II: Children of the Seven Stars now. Maybe it’s RPG burnout – I’ve yet to beat two RPGs, both renowned for their difficulty, that I stupidly decided to play at the same time. Maybe it’s the knowledge that there are two really good games coming this October that I’m sure to get and play as soon as possible. Whatever the reason is, the only reason this game is on my list is because I stand to gain an extra 10 coins if I buy and register this before April 2015.

 

shin megami tensei iv - box

4. Shin Megami Tensei IV

I’m still interested in Shin Megami Tensei IV, but I’m not looking to buy it right now. This time, I’m sure it’s because I’m a little tired of RPGs at the moment and I know that this is another difficult and long RPG that I won’t be able to beat before October.

 

kid icarus uprising - cover

3. Kid Icarus: Uprising

Originally, it was my nephew who was interested in Kid Icarus: Uprising. What got me intrigued was seeing this game mentioned often in several discussions about underrated 3DS games. After digging a little deeper, I found that people who’ve played this game either love it or recognize the good gameplay mechanics but abhor the controls. I watched a couple of reviews though, and not only did Kid Icarus: Uprising look good, but it looked very fun to play.

 

metal gear solid 2 - box

2. Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater 3D

My experience with Batman: Arkham Origins Blackgate was such a positive one, it cemented my decision to eventually get Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater 3D as well. Both games are essentially similar in that they’re well made but got overshadowed by their home console counterparts and other Nintendo first party 3DS games. I’m looking to buy a used copy though; retail copies don’t come with Club Nintendo codes so I’d rather save a little and possibly get another game as well.

 

virtue's last reward - box

1. Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward

I want this game. I’ve actually been checking the local game store for a copy of Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward, but it looks like they don’t have any available right now. But really, I’m looking forward to diving into another long and compelling story. I want to solve tough, brain busting puzzles. Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward will over me both.

And that’s my Buy List for August. I’m probably going to get one of the games on this list after August 10, and it looks like I’m going to end up getting Number One this time around.

Leave a comment

Filed under Nintendo 3DS, The Buy List, Video games

Leave a Reply

