The Buy List – July 2014

I was able to get a few games this June, so my Buy List for July has changed…

the buy list logo

Recently purchased:

batman ao blackgate - box

Batman: Arkham Origins Blackgate

I had lots of trouble choosing between this game and Fire Emblem Awakening, so what did my girlfriend do? She fixed everything by getting me both this and Fire Emblem Awakening! Awesome!

After playing the game for a few minutes, I can say that I don’t regret getting this at all. This is the kind of game that isn’t that good but will be great in the hands of a Batman fan. I’m sure that after playing this, I’ll note how the game could have been better but given the price that my girlfriend got this for, I think it’s worth it.

fire emblem awakening - box

Fire Emblem Awakening

I finally have a copy of this game! I was supposed to get this, but then I ended up getting Dead or Alive: Dimensions, and then I ended up getting Kirby: Triple Deluxe right after. I didn’t want to play a really long game after Bravely Default, but I’ve been checking different lists of top 3DS games and Fire Emblem Awakening always comes up in the top three at least.

I would have ended up buying Batman: Arkham Origins Blackgate before this, and then would have obsessed over buying another game before my number one. Thankfully, my girlfriend saved me all that trouble by getting me both. Despite having a Buy List for July, I don’t think I’ll buy another 3DS game until after I’m done with this game.

The Buy List:

conception ii - box

5. Conception II: Children of the Seven Stars

Conception II: Children of the Seven Stars is still here because I’m still interested in this game. I answered the Intent to Buy survey over at the Club Nintendo website and stand to gain extra points for this, and I think the “classmating” feature is just too unusual to completely ignore. It’s rare to get a game with as much fanservice as this game, so I’m still considering this.

 

shin megami tensei iv - box

4. Shin Megami Tensei IV

And this is how my Buy List works – I base it on how I currently feel about the games on the list, and that changes depending on what games I’ve been playing. I’m almost done with Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor, and with Fire Emblem Awakening now in my hands, so my interest in getting another RPG has declined. In fact, Shin Megami Tensei IV used to be number two on this list because there weren’t any other 3DS games that I was really interested in getting, until a few days ago when I saw a couple of reviews that changed my mind. Had I published this post in the middle of June, this would have been my number two.

 

tomodachi life - box

3. Tomodachi Life

I’m not a person that likes lifesims (life simulation games) – for me, video games are an escape from reality. That, and lifesims usually don’t have clear endings, so you’re never really done with a lifesim, you just get tired of playing it. But there’s just something unique and weird about Tomodachi Life that made me interested in it. Sure, it’s a lifesim, but it’s a simulation of how your life would be if it were a hundred times crazier than it actually is. Several reviewers have commented that Tomodachi Life isn’t really a game, it’s more of an experience since you’re not really playing anything. Right now, it seems like it’s something that me and my girlfriend would enjoy.

metal gear solid 2 - box

2. Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater 3D

I missed out on a lot of really good games simply because they were released on the Playstation 2. It’s not often that I get the chance to play them, so whenever remakes of such games become available on Nintendo consoles that I own, I definitely consider them. I loved the Metal Gear Solid: Twin Snakes remake that was released on the Nintendo Gamecube, and despite the frame rate issues, I’ve been considering getting a copy of Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater 3D if it goes on sale. There aren’t a lot of big releases for the 3DS in the near future aside from Super Smash Bros., so I might as well put this game on my buy list.

 

virtue's last reward - box

1. Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward

Now that I have a copy of Fire Emblem Awakening, ZeroEscape: Virtue’s Last Reward has now moved up to number one in my Buy List. It’s a game that, until I buy it, will always be in my list because this is the follow up to 9 Hours, 9 Persons, 9 Doors, and I was not satisfied with how the storyline was resolved in that game. I want to know what happens to the characters of that game, and if I have to buy the sequel, I’m going to do it!

As a visual novel, ZeroEscape: Virtue’s Last Reward has a good enough storyline to make me want it, and adding puzzles is a plus in my book. But really, I want this game because I want to see the continuation of 9 Hours, 9 Persons, 9 Doors. I’ve already put enough distance between playing Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney and getting this, so I’m ready for another text-heavy game.

And that’s it for my Buy List. At this point, I’ve already filled out my collection with certain game types (e.g. fighting, multiplayer games, RPGs, etc.) so I can afford to slow down with my purchases and go for what my mood dictates.

1 Comment

Filed under Nintendo 3DS, The Buy List, Video games

One response to “The Buy List – July 2014

  1. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading
    it, you are a great author. I will remember to bookmark your blog
    and definitely will come back later on. I want to
    encourage that you continue your great writing, have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

