The Buy List – June 2014

This is the second time where I’m going to talk about my Buy List, and I can say that it changed around a bit…

the buy list logo

Off the list:

amazing spider-man - box

The Amazing Spider-Man

When I initially thought about getting a copy of this game, I was fully aware that it was going to be mediocre, but I was considering getting this and a copy of The Amazing Spider-Man 2 if it was even just a little better. It wasn’t. So I’m not going to get either of them.

Recently purchased:

kirby triple deluxe - box

Kirby: Triple Deluxe

I tried really hard to resist buying this game. It wasn’t in my buy list last month and I felt a little guilty about getting Kirby: Triple Deluxe before the other five games that I’ve been considering to get for some time now, but I had enough reason to get it.

The Buy List:

conception ii - box

5. Conception II: Children of the Seven Stars

My interest in this game is slowly waning. From a must buy after I tried the demo, to number two in last month’s Buy List, to number five today. I’m still thinking about it though, maybe if I see a good bargain or happen upon a lot of money, I might pull the trigger on this.

 

batman ao blackgate - box

4. Batman: Arkham Origins Blackgate

Being a Nintendo console retrogamer ensured that I wouldn’t be able to play any of the Batman: Arkham games, but I was glad to see that they released this for the 3DS. It’s a critically-acclaimed game franchise, and deep inside I’m still a comic book fanatic. I honestly would have preferred to get a game of a Marvel character first before a DC character, but there just isn’t any good enough Marvel games on the 3DS that’s worth getting. Batman: Arkham Origins Blackgate isn’t a great game, at least based on reviews, but it’s decent enough (even better than The Amazing Spider-Man) for me to consider getting a copy – for the right price.

 

virtue's last reward - box

3. Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward

Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward dropped a spot because I’m a little tired of visual novel style games, and because I’m currently playing Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor on the DS so I’m more interested in the next game on this list. Zero Escape: Virtue’s Last Reward is less expensive though, and I still want to know what happens to the characters of 9 Hours, 9 Persons, 9 Doors so I’m still high enough on this game.

 

shin megami tensei iv - box

2. Shin Megami Tensei IV

I’ve been reading up on Shin Megami Tensei IV, and it has gotten a lot of good reviews since its release. I was a little wary of it’s difficulty, because a lot of people have said that this was a difficult RPG to play especially early on. A special edition comes with its own strategy guide – if the publishers took it upon themselves to provide a strategy guide along with the game, then you’ll probably need it, right? I guess buying this game will depend on my state of mind after I beat Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor – I might want more Shin Megami Tensei goodness, or I might want to take a break from those types of games. We’ll see.

 

fire emblem awakening - box

1. Fire Emblem Awakening

Still number one on my list. I’m still shocked that I bought a copy of Kirby: Triple Deluxe before this. Funny story – after I bought Kirby: Triple Deluxe, a friend of mine who I frequently see online on my 3DS Friends list started playing something other than Monster Hunter 3 which is what he ALWAYS plays – I swear that I’ve never seen him play any other game before getting Kirby. You know what he’s playing now? Fire Emblem Awakening. Right after I play one of my games, I check on which of my friends is online, and I see him playing Fire Emblem Awakening. Unless something else on this list goes on sale for a really affordable price or if Nintendo suddenly releases Smash Bros. on the 3DS, Fire Emblem Awakening is going to be the next game added to my collection.

So that’s it for now – can’t wait to see what happens in the next 30 days. Which one of these games will I get? Will another impulse buy happen? We’ll see.

1 Comment

Filed under Nintendo 3DS, The Buy List, Video games

One response to “The Buy List – June 2014

Leave a Reply

