All Aboard June 2013

Last month’s All Aboard marks the second consecutive time that I went alone to the event, although a co-worker did go with me to take a look around. I managed to convince him to try out one of the available board games, Forbidden Island.

Tin_Front

I chose Forbidden Island because I’ve read a lot about it being one of the best gateway games available. I’ve played it once before, and I’ve already tried teaching the game to someone else, so I knew I could facilitate it. Before the game started, one of my now-regular gaming friends arrived, so we were able to have a 3 player session.

forbidden island rolesIn Forbidden Island, players take on one out of six total roles, each with its’ own unique ability.

We had a good team – I was the Explorer, and my co-worker was the Diver, so we had a lot of mobility. My friend took on the role of the Engineer to help us keep the island from sinking. We had a good run at it too, getting three out of the four treasures quickly. Alas, it wasn’t meant to be – before we were able to get the fourth treasure, the helipad sunk, leaving us stranded on the island with no way off it.

forbidden island treasuresTo win the game, the players have to collect all four treasures and escape the island via a helicopter.

After that session, my co-worker left, and my other board gaming friends arrived. We decided to try our hands at Mice and Mystics again, primarily because we weren’t playing it correctly the last time we tried it.

mce and mystics box

We managed to beat Chapter 1 this time around, although we still didn’t play it 100% correctly.

You know what though? I loved the game so much when I tried it the previous month, so I looked for a used copy of the game (couldn’t wait for a brand new copy to be shipped here) and bought one. I was actually waiting for the seller at the event, and thanks to our friendly middle man, we were able to transact without even meeting each other.

So, while waiting for my copy, I was going through the Mice and Mystics rulebook when another group of people arrived. I didn’t know them, but they were friendly and wanted to play some games. I described Mice and Mystics to them, they got interested, my facilitator friend arrived, and pretty soon I found myself playing the game again, going through Chapter 1 for the third time in a row. We won the game again, and I’m glad that I went through Chapter 1 over and over because when I finally got my own copy, I found it easy to run the game at home.

After that game, I decided to go home. I was already tired from all the activities that I’ve been doing lately. So, aside from being the second time that I went without either my girlfriend or nephew, this was the first time that I did not get the chance to play a new game and also the first time in several months that I left the event before seven in the evening.  But hey, I went home with a copy of Mice and Mystics in hand, so it’s all good.

Mice and Mystics, for several reasons, has replaced Last Night On Earth as my favorite board game. I’ve been playing it often since getting a copy, and I’ll probably write more about it soon. So, no new game to the list of what I’ve played at this event, although I’ve updated it to mark Mice and Mystics as one of the games that I liked so much, I bought my own copy:

  • Shadows Over Camelot
  • Dixit
  • Last Night On Earth (bought it)
  • Jab
  • 7 Wonders
  • Pandemic
  • Monopoly Deal
  • Cutthroat Caverns
  • Conquest of Planet Earth
  • Defenders of the Realm
  • Flash Point: Fire Rescue (bought it)
  • Smash Up!
  • Incan Gold
  • Ultimate Werewolf
  • King of Tokyo
  • Puerto Rico
  • Toc Toc Woodman
  • Ca$h ‘n Gun$
  • Pressure Point!
  • Forbidden Island
  • Guillotine
  • Shadow Hunters
  • Mice and Mystics (bought it)
Leave a comment

Filed under All Aboard, Board Games

Leave a Reply

