Giant Size X-Men set poster

Thanks to the members of HCRealms.com, I was able to get my hands on a scan/collage of the Giant Size X-Men poster. Now I know how many figures I’m going to chase after. I’d give credit where credit is due, but I lost track of who did what. I do know that someone named wonderboy8917 released images of the poster first (thank you, I believe I’ve given you the well-deserved rep points). So here’s the collage of the photos:

My must haves from this set: #08 Cyclops, #09 Wolverine, #10 Beast, #11 Emma Frost, #23 Psylocke, #31 Angel, #33 Blob, #34 Pyro, #35 Mystique, #40 Sabretooth, #53 Magneto. I want Cyclops, Wolverine, Emma Frost and Psylocke to boost my Modern Age X-Men teams; Blob, Pyro, Mystique, Sabretooth, and Magneto will add much needed support for my Brotherhood teams, and Angel completes the First Class version of the X-Men (the other four were released in Mutations and Monsters). Of my must haves, only 1 (estimate, not really sure of the rarities yet) is a Super Rare, so I have a pretty good chance at getting most of these with one brick. The tricky figure is Magneto – in most sets, there are only 3-4 Super Rare figures and I’m not too sure about the SR distribution because of the reduced number of boosters in a brick (there were 10 boosters in previous sets, but with this set there are only 8 boosters and 1 “super” booster in a brick).

My wants but not must haves are: #01 Madrox, #15 Tabitha Smith, #16 Aaron Stack, #17 Domino, #18 Caliban, #25 Elixir, #27 Siryn, #28 Elsa Bloodstone, #30 Rogue, #38 Iceman, #46 Juggernaut, #48 Storm, #49 Archangel, #54 The Captain. I’m pretty interested in Nextwave, but The Captain being an SR deters me from fully committing to collecting the set (as what happened with the Runaways and the Warriors Three). The rest of the X-folks are nice to have, but I’m not dying to have them because they either have other versions available (Iceman, Storm, Archangel) or I’m really not interested in the character (Rogue). For the SRs, if the price is right and I have funds I may go after them.

My “I don’t really want them but will keep them anyway” figures are: everything else that’s common, uncommon and rare! These are Marvel figures after all, and I’m sure I’ll find a team to fit them in one way or another.  They don’t make good trade fodder anyway – most of the folks that I know will probably have the commons-uncommons-rares that they want or need. Super rares, are a different story. Aside from Magneto and the Captain, I’m willing to trade all the other SRs for the figures that I want.

I’m really looking forward to this set; I’ve already pre-ordered a brick and a super booster – I hope I get a Magneto!

Leave a comment

Filed under Heroclix

Leave a Reply

